Cook It Fresh

in #livesustainably6 years ago (edited)

We're starting the week right with an easy to prepare vegetable dish just in time for @livesustainably's Cook It Fresh challenge.

image
Image Source

I have very picky eaters. My 2 kids eat like there's no tomorrow if I have them fried chicken, pork chops, beef steak, sausages. But, they barely touch their plate when I prepare veggies. John isn't a fan of greens too. The only produce he'd eat are french fries. No, that doesn't count.

Growing up, I didn't like them too. But you know how it was then... If you don't like momma's cooking, you don't eat. So I had to! And I learned how to eat them and realized they aren't so bad. Now, 30 something years after with 2 kids, I miss the days my mom would cook weird looking greens. Those that I thought were just weeds she pulled out from the garden then tossed to the pot.

Anyway, here's our entry for this week's #livesustainably contest. This is Sauteed Mung Bean Sprouts.

Ingredients:
1/2 lb fresh mung bean sprouts
1/4 lb pork cut into cubes
1/4 lb dried shrimps
Garlic, onion, tomatoes, scallions
Salt and pepper to taste
Oil, oyster sauce

image

image

Procedure:
Heat the oil in a pan.
Add the shrimp. Saute for 1 minute. Sprinkle salt and ground black pepper. Add in the cubed pork. Continue to cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the pan and put in a clean plate. Set aside.
Using the same pan, add the remaining oil.
Saute garlic and onion and tomatoes until soft.
Add the mung bean sprouts, Stir-fry for 3 to 5 minutes.
Put the cooked shrimp and pork back in the pan. Stir. Add about a tbsp of oyster sauce.
Add the scallions. Continue to cook for 2 to 3 minutes.

I paired it with fried fish, by the way so, here's our lunch for today.

image

This dish brought back memories of me and my mom arguing over eating my vegetables... Which I ended up eating anyways. And I'm glad my kids liked them. Especially the youngest!

Thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah (and John)

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37