Litterwalk - Saraholmen

in #litterwalk6 years ago

Finally, I did my first proper litterwalk. I've had a couple of #litterwalk postings earlier, but that was more "look at this weird things we found while skiing" than a proper litter walk. I'm anchored up at an idyllic place inside islands in Bærum - the garbage here is almost certainly local as it's a barrier of islands between here and the sea, and the islands looks so clean and nice from here, actually I didn't expect to find any garbage at all. This first photo was actually taken Sunday morning, but it's my current position. I decided to take the island to the left, my intention was to walk around all of it and collect what I could find.

I don't even need to take the garbage I find with me. There are garbage bins provided on the place. Hmm ... and there seems to be garbage on the ground as well

Plastic, plastic, everywhere ...

The piece of wood below I left - though, it does have a dangerous nail in it. I did took some other small piece of wood that I suspect may be impregnated.

I wonder if someone has been shitting here, using wet-wipes to dry up. If so, the shit is long gone, but the wetwipes are still in place. I didn't wear gloves, this was the most yucky thing I picked up.

Such a lovely small peninsula ... wonder if there are any garbage here?

Yes, indeed ...

Lineup of garbage. Actually, I found lots more. The long grass to the left seems to have been a good magnet for garbage, found lots of plastic, styrofoam and different junk inside it ...

... and even a football.

"Shampoo" for the boat.

Let me rant a bit ... boating people (and that includes me) are actually quite awful people. Most of us don't throw garbage intentionally on the sea, but most of us do lose lots of items, including plastic items in the sea. We use lots of rope, almost all of them are made from plastic materials, and inevitably every now and then we lose whole ropes or shreds of ropes into the sea. To get away from the city and all the diesel-powered vehicles there, we use diesel-powered vehicles that we "park" directly in the nicest spots of nature we can find.

And this long piece of ... some thermo-insulating cover for sitting on, I believe.

Even without that thing, my garbage bag is already starting to become quite full

Now what's this ... someone has made a cross. I would have just left it if the rope would have been hemp or cotton ... but unfortunately the rope used is synthetic, plastic. Quite some work to remove it ...

Two and a half minute later ...

Boaters always need rope, and this rope actually looked like brand new rope. But it was poor quality, not the kind of rope that I need most, and I didn't really bother to keep it, so into the garbage bin with it.

Now my garbage bag was completely full, and it was bothersome to move around with both the full garbage bag and the football. So far I've spent a bit more than 20 minutes picking garbage, and I've done just a small stretch of the planned round-trip around the island. There was MUCH more garbage than expected!

Oh ... look at those bins. They must have been standing there since the autumn, with plastic garbage bags that by now have become quite torn with the wind ... efficiently spreading more plastic garbage around.

Here is my contribution. I'll write an email and inform about those garbage bins.

Hm, I should do some local efforts in the area around the bin, too ... but the football I'll just leave there. Maybe there will come some kids and play with it. Maybe I'll take my kids there soon so they can play with the ball.

There used to be a factory on this island, so there is quite some junk left behind from that time as well ... but the bricks and iron sort of belongs to the island, the plastic certainly doesn't.

Now, what do we have here? I actually brought a spare plastic bag with me, put it into my pocket, and now my pocket is empty! Oups!

All photos available in better resolution on IPFS QmRoSF1DVancmSzcN7WZYQjooxvvbSkfDFUoC5P4MpiKt5. License: CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

Really great walk! The ball was an interesting find, and I wonder what the purpose behind the cross was. What if the island is haunted... 😱😂

It's awesome that you got so much plastic up, it will hopefully help out the fishes who may have eaten some of it!

Great #litterwalk, I hope it inspires others!

You are one of the #humanangels!

It's awesome that you got so much plastic up, it will hopefully help out the fishes who may have eaten some of it!

Birds too.

Hallo @tobixen🤗
I really love the way you clean up the beach, that's wonderful way to do😉
In the next time I hope I will spend my time again to clean up the beach to make sure that the beach little better clean after it!

I've been picking some more garbage on the island lately, but nothing more than I could carry in my bare hands, it hasn't been much there. The football is gone, I suppose the people collecting the garbage brought it. The garbage bins have been emptied.

Night before Saturday someone left some empty beer cans on the island. One of them was drifting past our boat, unfortunately I didn't manage to grab it. Later on the day, that place was crowded with people, so I didn't go picking anything.

Your pictures make the garbage look lovely. I attempted a beach clean up as well, but mine failed. Mysteriously almost no trash was there. I suspect someone else is up to litterwalks. Maybe I should look through the rest of these entries...

Man such a beautiful place that litter really seems like a blight on it. I mean I am by no means a social worker and even lazy about my environmental responsibility. But even I can't see a beautiful place littered with crap.
Remember organizing a small 'save a old dying tree campaign' in my neighborhood as a kid. The old dude was probably several decades old and served as the fist tree climbing experience for most of us. It started to die because a nearby construction site was dumping crap around the tree.

I can only say that you picked some stuff today with your bare hands. Probably next time you will consider taking some gloves.
The soccer ball in my imagination is left there by some kids to have it for a match whenever they get there. Good idea to not throw it to the garbage.
As a conclusion you picked the boaters garbage, probably yours also :-), some of yogis who went nuts and shredded apart the yoga mat, some craftsman cross probably made by yogis after they realized yoga's not for them and a few bottles. The soccer ball is not considered garbage so we'll keep it out of the inventory.
Great initiative though. I've read recently that even in the North of Norway they found significant amounts of plastic waste after the meltdown and alot was driven on the shores by the currents.
Sad to see plastic bottles and bags in such a beautiful nature...

I have a box of single-time gloves here, but I don't really like using them, and considered I didn't need them. I considered that the garbage I was going to pick was most likely going to be quite clean anyway - cleaned by rainfall or the sea.

The wet-wipes I was referring to...as not being that clean.
I know how it is to wear single-time gloves. It made my hands sweat whenever I used them.
So...I can understand now why you chose the old way.

Awesome #litterwalk.. I love seeing people all over the world helping to clean up our planet.. just a suggestion but there is another tag I would recommend for posts like this.. the #ophumanangels tag.. there are a bunch of us that regularly check the tag and upvote good deeds like this. Thanks again for helping keep the planet green and have a great day.. 👍👍

I'll consider #ophumanangels next time, but for this post it's not fully worthy. I think I should fill at least two bags and spend at least 40 minutes :-) I actually came there with two shopping bags, and "now I'm carrying too much garbage" was quite a lame excuse for ending the litterwalk (well, I did continue a bit just around the garbage bins, but still ...).

Hope I'll be able to take the kids with me on my next litter walk.

Good job @tobixen ...
We wish everyone to participate in #litterwalk

The amount of garbage and junk everywhere in unbelievable. Its difficult to walk even in secluded places in Oslo (beaches, forest, lakes) without being surrounded by tiny pieces of plastic. Its insane. Kudos for you effort. I hope this kind of ''clean walking'' becomes a ''trend.''

Plastic is every where. Our environment is collapsed day by day. We have use those which are convenient for environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49