Our first official litter walk!

in #litterwalk6 years ago

20180415_130142_0001.png
cover pic created by me in canva. tulip pic is my own

This is my entry for @hickorymack's #litterwalk contest. See her post here.

I have been wanting to do a litter walk with the kids for a while now. Honestly, I wasn't sure if the rain would stop before the deadline for the contest. 😂 Last summer we started getting in the habit of bringing a trash bag with us to the park and gathering what we could find. They're older now and can help much more. My mom and dad bought them these little grabber things. Perfect for a trash walk!

But first, I need a cupholder on the stroller for my coffee. Gotta have the coffee....
20180415_112706.jpg
Yep. That outta do quite nicely. Thanks @chackett for being the kind of guy that always has giant zip ties laying around. 😍
20180415_112747.jpg
Let's rock and roll!
20180415_114217.jpg
Found some trash.
20180415_114548.jpg
Grabby claw thing to the rescue! The kids had a blast picking up stuff with these.
20180415_114552.jpg
20180415_114836.jpg
20180415_115433.jpg
And yes, that's a unicorn horn on River's head. She's really into headbands right now and I found that at the dollar store. It's her favorite thing and I kinda wish I had bought one for myself. 😀
20180415_120500.jpg
We walked over to the school by our house and cleaned up along the fence. It was pretty gross.
20180415_115944.jpg
20180415_120131.jpg
Much better! 😊😊
20180415_123618.jpg
Our little haul. Most of this was snack wrappers and water bottles from the play ground. At least these kids are well fed and hydrated. 😐
That was all we had time for, the kids were getting cranky and all the play ground equipment was still wet from this morning's rain. 😂 Thanks for coming with us on our adventure and if you'd like to join in and do your own litter walk, I highly encourage it! @hickorymack is hosting a special contest just for this, and the prize is pretty substantial. That's all I'm gonna say! You'll have to check out her post and read all about it here. Plus, It's just the right thing to do. Even if all you collect is half a bag of trash, that's half a bag of crap that is no longer clogging up nature. You can't go wrong! 😍

Hope everyone's having a great weekend! Love and light!
rose-gold-1585003_960_720.png
banner.jpg
IMG_20180124_142440.png
khackett_red.png
If you feel so inclined, please click on the banner below to visit my new Amazon Store. Just launched and we've got the "best merch in the verse!"
cooltext281508877769184.jpg


Check out the STEEMmamas Discord. It's where all the coolest moms hangout. #fact

SMbannersmall.png


Sort:  

This is amazing and I love that the children got invovled. You have motivated me to do some litter pick up in my area 😊

The kids' grabby thingees were Awesome for realz, just brilliant! And the unicorn headband...genius! Great job Hackett Family!!

This is a good way of making the children have fun while they work

I bet those grabby things raised the game level of the walk for the kids a lot!
Also, I love your makeshift cup holder, lol.

That's great work @khackett
Send my regards for your awsome childrens too🤗

I am furious to see the children nimbly citing their garbage on the streets.
this is a good lesson for growing awareness at an early age about the importance of maintaining an environmental cleanliness ..
good working children 😊😊😚
you guys are cool !!!

Great walk, thanks for sharing.

Coolest Mums.... And some awesome Dad's!

I love that idea, I saw it a few weeks ago. I'd love to do somthing like that here... But where would you start.
Yearly the expats come together and clean up the riverside. But the locals here really need to be educated on how bad littering really is. We frequently see people throwing anything and everything on the ground here in Cambodia and burning just about anything they can also. Quite sad.

Yes!!! Way to stay the children off to good habits at such a young age.. you rock

Thats so great on so many levels!! Getting the kids to help is genius!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61