Our Litterwalk Looking for Only the Trashiest of Trash

in #litterwalk6 years ago

rsz_img_20180511_185707.jpg

Artsy trash: sea glass

I don’t like contests. I’m a contest snob. Here I am, this tiny drop of life in a sea of Steemit articles—I should be promoting myself. That would be the logical thing to do, but I am no business woman. I see contests and I just turn my nose up. Nope. Can’t write about that. The topic has to genuinely appeal to me, or someone I respect must rope me into it. When I stumbled across the challenge to pick up trash by @hickorymac I immediately thought of all the interesting trash treasures I’ve found on the beach. I enthusiastically commented on the post that I would do it. Finally, something that excites me. (Check out the contest here.)

If you were looking for a show of impressive service performed for Mother Earth, then stop here. My efforts are actually quite pathetic. I considered backing out of this, but I did leave that enthusiastic comment, and I am a woman of my word.

Today I naively went out to find some trash. Trash is a dime a dozen, right? Cheaper, actually. My town’s populace is growing by the day, bringing more and more of us slovenly humans into it. And the ocean is brimming with plastic sloshing around in garbage islands. Surely a good bit of that has washed up onto the shore here in my town. Surely.

rsz_img_20180511_214338.jpg

The boy is holding seaweed, not trash.

There is no damn trash on my beach. With my trusty sidekicks—a tot, a preschooler, and an old-man dog—we combed the sand high and low. Every time I go to the beach I pick up something, so I figured if I was actively looking there would be plenty. I was wrong. The old-man dog did sniff out some disgusting things, but they were all biodegradable. I don’t think he grasped our purpose. The tot managed to find a random chunk of PVC pipe, which she was convinced was a shell. The preschooler found a plastic bag that looked to have freshly escaped its owner somewhere sunbathing on the beach, and a broken sand shovel. I found quite a bit of sea glass—mainly chunks of broken beer bottles—but those don’t count. Once glass has been rubbed smooth and cloudy by the ocean it is no longer trash—it is art created by a collaboration of human and ocean. Here is another little piece of ocean art I was able to find:

rsz_img_20180511_185504.jpg

I went home dejected. Where can one find some decent quality trash? Not the artsy kind, but the really trashy kind. I couldn’t walk the side of a highway safely with my sidekicks. State parks are clean. The playgrounds are usually clean. The places we frequent are, surprisingly, clean. Where is a litter bug when you need one?

rsz_1rsz_img_20180511_213409.jpg

I decided to drop the topic from my mind. Dusk was closing in on us. We took a walk to appreciate the cooling evening air. The sky was smeared around with baby blue and baby pink. A glare of fading sun lit up the backdrop and silhouetted the pine trees. The light was still enough to clearly see the ditch we were passing on the farther end of my street. And there, like magic, was the answer to my problems. The litter was right under my nose all along; the litter bugs live among us.

The beauty of the biodiverse grasses that grow in our ditch help to hide the unsightly things. Things like cigarette butts, straws, unidentifiable papers. There were a great deal of bread bags—the nasty cheap stuff that sticks like gum to the roof of your mouth. (In addition to contests, I am also a bread snob.)

We found numerous mini bottles of Fire Ball. Is this a repeat offender, or is Fire Ball just really popular? I have no idea.

rsz_img_20180511_213631.jpg

The boy endured two bites from some fire ants to collect this trash. That boy of mine is brave.

rsz_img_20180511_213613.jpg

Perspective of the sidekick.

We managed to fill a grocery bag from scouring just our end of the ditch. Does using a bag you found as trash to collect more trash get bonus points?

rsz_img_20180511_214022.jpg

A very poor quality picture of some very high quality trashy-trash.

We then traveled back up the road opposite the ditch and did the obligatory dandelion puff blowing. I drank up some of that baby blue and baby pink. There is something about staring up at a moving airplane that reminds you of how tiny you are. An ant in this world spilling over with trash.

rsz_img_20180511_213918.jpg

X marks the spot

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-12T03:30:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 71.50/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Lovely adventure, pleased your beaches are clean. The ditches and hedgerows on the roads out of town are where we have problems, too.

Thanks. Figures, people have already cleaned up the fun areas to pick up and it's just the ditches left :)

HA, well I'm glad you didn't give up and found some trashy trash to clean up. I'm impressed your beach is clean! Bushes/fencing, gutters, and parking lots are where I see a lot.

Ha, yes, perseverance! I do see it in parking lots a lot too, should have drove to the local walmart :)

Hallo @ginnyannette🤗
You doing some great walk to clean up!
That's awsome!
Warm regards for you!

I kind of love that you are drawn to the artsy trash. It has been a while since I have taken time for a creative project. That don't stop me from bringing home interesting bits of this and that. I am pretty sure there is a post in my future based on trash to treasure.
Now if only I were really creative I would figure a way to work that into one of those litter walks.
I do love how you manage to paint a scene of tranquility into even a garbage post.

I find so many good things in the trash, especially in relation to garden art. In the living room I have a large picture frame type thing that was the frame to a dresser mirror. It houses a collage of little frames in it. To think, someone wanted to throw it away. I'm curious to see your future post on trash treasure. Maybe you will get lucky on a litter walk :)

Thanks for stopping by @headchange, always glad to see you pop up here.

Oh believe me I don't have to get lucky. I probably have enough junk to rebuild the world. I have a similar frame. Mine came off My antique vanity dresser. Clutzy me broke the center mirror. Maybe one day I will pull it out and do some kind of funky mosaic in the center part. Maybe make one of those how-to post. I really should post more I suppose.
For now I am enjoying the reading. I especially love hearing about your kids. My baby is almost 30. Your days are very much as mine were. It brings back pleasant memories. Sometimes even things I had forgotten. I hope you keep writing maybe one day I will have more than a penny for a tip.

Wonderful art comes from clutzy people. :)

I only have a penny to hand out too. The money really doesn't mean anything to me, I'm just glad to see someone read it. I need to work a lot more on my interaction and building things here. I've had a slow start.

Shame we can't just pull a Freaky Friday and catch each other up. I am doing ok at going around getting to know some folks. Posting... not so much. Anything that takes over 3 mins. just isn't working out for me right now.
I should be ashamed you have 2 munchkin and still manage to pull off some great reads.
I honestly don't see how you do it.

Ha, we complete each other. I'm the same way behind a keyboard as in real life - not a social being. I have to force myself to make an effort. The over three minutes threshold is a problem for me too, because I set aside time when the kids are in bed to write, so I have to socialize during waking hours. Anything that takes longer than three minutes to respond to is pushing it.

hello there, i like your writing! thank you for picking up some trash :). i do the same every now and then. but only if i'm in the mood, see a trash can near or have a plastic bag with me. i should do it more often. thanks for reminding me!

Thank you. Every little bit counts :)

very impressive your struggle @ginnyannette even the baby also never give up in doing the activities of taking the garbage.
greeting the baby

Thank you. We are a persistent family :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52