Book Review: Tomorrow Died Yesterday.

in #literature5 years ago (edited)

|| Their Tomorrow Is Already Dead. It Died Yesterday. || E X T R A C T E D.

•This year so far happens to be the best for me when it comes to reading, looking back how I complained, I can truely agree with @achama___ with what she said about my reading.
First of all I'm joining @reggiereads #2booksunder50reviews challenge with this roller coaster.
Also, it's the book of the month for @theindulgentbibliophile. One of the reasons I read it quicker than expected and I'm so so glad I did.
A very big THANK YOU to @rovingbookwormng whom I just discovered is the wife to the author for the privilege of onion a signed copy.
zolqp9wu5m.jpg
Photo Taken By Me
|| •REVIEW• ||
It's a story of four friends [Doye, Amaibi, Kaniye & Tubo] who grew up in the part of Niger Delta called Asiama, long before the discovering of oil in the state. Growing up they had to path ways so as to fullfil aspirations.
But in the year 2004, something connected them all together again which was the kidnapping happening and alone the line a death occured. Caused by one among the four friends, one of them having a hand, another been accused and one of them trying to save the accused by proving him not guilty in court.
With the injustice, failed sysyem, poverty and corruption, showing how all these played part in their personal lives, friendship, moral sense and it's effect on the society.

•This story is an eye opener on the issues we face in our country, the betrayal we faced in friendship.
It's an emotional and mind blowing read that I laughed at the words of the characters, felt melancholy for what some had to pass through and angry wishing Karma would take it hold on some of the characters too.
~Among the characters.
Kaniye happens to be my most favourite. The love I developed for him was deep and I was like his a real definition of a true friend.
Amaibi was my most admired chacter though at a point I was like, does he really value his life and freedom. His stand for the truth was something that only the courageous can do.
Tubo on the other hand is my most odious character. A green snake in the green grass was what defined him.
The book also portrays religion, hypocrisy and tribalism too. That at the end I'm like, Garricks is an underrated writer. Well just as he preferred himself as storyteller rather than a writer, I would say that definition is what suits him more.
Please if you are yet to read this, do yourself a favour and go grab a copy and thank me later.
RATING: 🌕️🌕️🌕️🌕️🌘
I'm looking forward to reading a book from him again.

Sort:  

You seem to be using older version of eSteem!
Please update to newest version to get most out of eSteem, Install Android, iOS mobile app. For desktop Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Great to see some book reviews here... wanted to do a review myself :) Thanks for sharing

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations, this post has been upvoted using the Steemjet community account,courtsey @cherylsonty, Keep publishing quality posts using the steemjet tag to earn curation rewards.

Join us

Steemjet Discord channel-https://discord.gg/vdZe8JW

We hope to see you around. Keep Steeming!!!

20190912_062109_0000.png
Join our growing Discord server here for more information. See our introduction post and join our ongoing airdrop here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85