5 Reasons to Read (or re-read) Airborn by Kenneth Oppel

in #literature7 years ago (edited)

Happy New Year! I want to start by reflecting on the last book I chose to read in 2017.

Airborn by Kenneth Oppel is a brilliant example of well-written speculative fiction. I was first introduced to Airborn when I listened to it on audiotape when I was in my early teens. I then went on to read it a few years later and picked it up a third time last week to read over Christmas break.

The first few times I read this book, I read it because I loved the story. I thought it was fun and entertaining. This last time I read it, I read with the specific purpose to understand WHY I find this book so wonderful.

Here are five reasons why I think Airborn is worth reading, or re-reading!

1. Oppel’s Worldbuilding

The setting of Airborn is fascinating. Oppel sets this novel in our world but it is filled with strange new technology and gadgets and ways of transportation, like airships. The steampunk vibe is strong with this one! The Aurora is basically a flying cruise-ship. The airship is so well described it jumps off the page. Flying pirates, undiscovered species and islands only add to the appeal of this world.

2. The Characters

The characters of Airborn are vibrant, appealing, and dynamic and each has a role to play to keep the plot moving forward. The hero, fifteen-year-old Matt Cruse, is smart and talented, but also has his flaws and weaknesses. The reader laughs at his humour, pities him in his low moments, and roots for him to succeed. Kate de Vries is the heroine and is a perfect strong female lead to match the hero. She is capable, opinionated, curious and has her own flaws. Szpirglas makes a wonderful villain, suave yet heartless and appropriately terrifying and chilling.

3. The Dialogue

Oppel’s dialogue is one of the biggest reasons I admire this book. The dialogue makes the characters more appealing. The humorous conversations between Baz and Matt are deliciously witty. Any conversation with Chef Vlad is hysterical. Yet, Oppel also uses dialogue for strong character development as well as to move the plot along. Each character has a strong voice that is revealed through dialogue.

4. The Plot

On this last read, I paid careful attention to the plot. Oppel is brilliant at keeping the novel well-paced. There are defeats and victories strategically placed throughout the novel that keep a reader engaged and wondering what in the world could possibly happen next. “How on earth will the characters get out of this new predicament?” The plot is a wonderful mix of scientific adventure and discovery, pirates, and a taste of romance.

5. The Themes

On this last read, I also paid careful attention to themes that ran throughout the book. I appreciated the conversations about class and gender Oppel integrated into the story. The reader is encouraged to see how the characters are limited by their economic situations, whether rich or poor, and expectations according to gender. Matt’s opportunity to attend the Academy is non-existent because he is poor. Bruce’s opportunity to pursue whatever career he wants is limited by his wealthy father who wants him to stay in the family business. Wealthy Kate is unable to pursue higher education because as a girl, she is expected to stay home and pursue lady-like activities. Oppel encourages readers to enter into a conversation about the freedom to choose and social expectations.

These are just five of the bigger reasons I think everyone should read Airborn. Oppel’s storytelling skills are exceptional and I look forward to reading some of his more recent work in this new year.

What do you think?

Do you agree with my five reasons? What are some things that you think are essential storytelling practices in speculative fiction, or other genres? Do you have any novel reading recommendations for 2018? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50