The Lesson of the Grass (Originally translated Filipino fictional story)

in #literature8 years ago

The Lesson of the Grass

 

There was once an Angel from heaven who visited the forest on the earth to check and make sure if all the trees and creatures are happy.

 

"Mr. Tree, are you happy with your condition?" asked the Angel.

 

"No, I'm not happy with my current condition" the tree answered unhappily, "because I could not bear flowers."

 

Then the Angel went to visit the flowers to check, "Ms. Flower, are you happy with your current surroundings?"

 

Then the flower answered, "No, I'm not happy because I don't have scent. Take a look at gardenia over there, it rocks to the breeze. It's aroma that were taken by the wind is a wind that promotes calm to anybody who smells it."

 

The Angel went to the gardenia to know how does it feels. "What can you say about your scent, are you happy with it?" asked the Angel.

 

"No, I'm not happy, I don't have fruit. I'm jealous with that banana, I can see him from here. It's fruit are already ripe!"

 

The Angel then go near to the banana, greeted him a very good day and asked, "Mr. Banana, how are you? Are you happy with yourself?"

 

"No, I'm not happy," answered the banana. "My body is weak, not strong and durable the Narra tree. Whenever there's a strong winds especially if it's a storm, I am easily get broken and drop to the ground! I wanted to be like Narra."

 

The Angel then went to Narra and asked, "What can you say about your strong and durable body Narra, are you happy with it?"

 

"If I were to be ask, I wanted to be like the Grass! His leaves are sharp which serve as his protection," said the Narra.

 

Then the Angel went to the Grass and asked, "How are you Grass, what do you want to become for yourself?"

 

"I am so happy with my current condition!" answered the Grass. "I don't like flowers. Fruit has no use. I don't even like a strong a durable body. What I wanted to become, is to be me. I am not jealous to anybody because I am very much happy with my current condition."

 

 

Lesson:

Although, it was not mentioned in the story what happen next to the creatures that were asked by the angel if they were happy with their current condition. But we can see that all of them except Grass are not satisfied with their life. They complained a lot about their current situation, they could not just afford to be happy and be satisfied about how the Creator created them.

 

The lesson is simple and it could be applied to all of us. In order for all of us to achieve happiness, is to be satisfied of what we have. Be thankful of what has been given instead of complaining.

 

 

ImageSource [1] [2]

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90