You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - Runs in the Family: The Story of the Bronte Sisters (Part 2)

in #literature5 years ago

Welcome to your second installment on the Brontë sisters, @honeydue. This time it corresponds to the one I was able to read with some attention: Emily Brontë. Wuthering Heights, already a very significant title in itself (because of what it might be allegorical), is undoubtedly a novel of great importance in English literature, Impregnated still by a marked romanticism, it introduces elements that will have value in the evolution of this genre, such as the descriptive work of the landscape, the emotions of its tormented characters, and the psychological atmospheres. Emily Brontë was a writer of enormous sensitivity, and daring, in her own way and for the time.
Among what I could say as a reader, I would stop to recall the beautiful, lyrical, final part of the book, when the narrator speaks of Heathcliff's tomb:

I stopped at his side under the serene sky. And following with my eyes the flight of dragonflies between wild plants and bellflowers, and listening to the rumor of the gentle breeze between the grass, I was amazed that someone could attribute restless dreams to those who slept in such peaceful tombs.

I admit that I haven't been able to read the third sister, Anne, except for the novel The Tenent of Wildfell Hall, which, from what you report, must be very interesting, as it seems to show a bold social and moral character for the prevailing Victorian morality.
Thank you for your illustrative post, @honeydue. Greetings.

Sort:  

I love Emily Bronte best of all, also. I think her writing is the most complex and interesting between the three sisters. It seems to me that it's the only Bronte book that doesn't stay stuck in its time. I mean, surely, Jane Eyre is a great book, but it's more appropriate to its time, whereas Wuthering Heights is downright fascinating even today.

Yes, that is a great passage, as well as the haunting moment when Heathcliff begs the ghost of Catherine to haunt him forever. It's a phenomenal book, in my opinion.

I read Anne long ago, to be honest, when I was a child and I suppose I didn't detect all the finer comments on society, but I do recall it as a good book...

Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49