You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Use Linux Despite The Occasional Frustration And Inconvenience

in #linux7 years ago

I've been telling myself for years that I'm going to start using Linux but never get around to it. I think I'll probably dual boot some version when I get a new computer.

Sort:  

There's lots of free music software to play with on Linux as well!

Haha, that's always a plus.

Why not install Linux on your old computer when you get the new one?

I like dual booting too, but I get a little nervous messing around with the hard drive's Master Boot Record.

The other possibility is installing VirtualBox (free and open source) and running LInux in a virtual machine to see if you like it. Essentially the whole "virtual computer" exists as a file on your computer and you can delete it if you don't like it.

My next plan is to buy a good pc, install mint then run windows under a vm. I don't play windows games anymore anyway so no big deal

I've done this in the past for the few times I needed Windows. Hmm, maybe it would solve the problems I'm having with my scanner...

I can't install it on the computer I'm using now because it's not mine, haha. My mother doesn't use her laptop much so she's letting me borrow it for now.

Yeah, VirtualBox is probably a good idea while I get to grips with the OS. I've not looked into dual booting too much yet so I'm not aware of all the downsides.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34