You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Ended up With Linux – A User Discovering Open Source

in #linux7 years ago (edited)

Well, knowing the address won't help much if you never walk through the door. Now that I'm in it feels like it's not such a big deal, but I'm sure many people are still looking in from outside, not quite sure if they should dare to come in. This post is for them mostly.

Oh, the old 5.25" floppy disks! I think that was just before my time. The aforementioned 286 had only a 3.5" disk drive, which was the reason one of our friends (with cool games nonetheless) could not exchange games with us: his PC only had a 5.25" drive. Until his folks got a 386 and everyone started hanging out at his house...

I love that analogy with the car dealerships. I think I saw a meme like that. Another one compared Windows to WallE, Mac to EVE, and Linux to the Terminator. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50