My first experience with - Part I: Linux

in #linux7 years ago (edited)

$ vi Part_1.txt

Hey Steemians, any linux engineers on here? How did your first hands-on with Linux felt like?

After working with Microsoft products for a long time, I was interested in something different. My career needed a new fresh breeze to get me excited again, so I took the chance to work as a linux application administrator.

Never really worked with a terminal before, but I picked up the basics pretty fast. Feeling like Mr. Robot how I manoeuvre through the folders in the server that I’m logged on.

mr_robot_01.gif

A colleague asked me to change some configuration in a property file. He told me it was as simple as “vi filename”.

So I went to the location I needed to be, typed in vi ‘filename’ and there I was. The vi screen popped up and I had no idea what to do. How could I edit the text.. How could I search for text.. How could I quit this? I was stuck for a long time..

mr_robot_02.gif

: wq

--
Thanks for reading, you can follow me for more articles, let's make this a great community.

Sort:  

I agree, vi and vim have a very steep learning curve. And it took me years before I ditched nano or joe for vim.

But once you are you used to it, you will love it. It's so powerful and extendible!

If you want to learn vim, run vimtutor on the commandline, it's part of the vim package.

Or follow the online interactive Vim tutorial.

Good luck!

PS: :x is short for :wq. ;) ZZ in command mode is even shorter.

Thanks, will definitely check out the vimtutor command. Each day I'm finding more commands to use and do my job quicker. Will do my first RHSA exam later this year!

Hi spartan23r !
I'm a linux sysadmin and i learned linux from a short learning program, i had the chance to have a great professor who got me into Vim from hour 1 and that's definitly a skill to have. In my first month at my current job and first experience on a professional level, i did a "rm -rf /*" on a production server because i missed on my keyboard, worst life experience being a system administrator :D :D at least 150 people were working on the server at the time and i had a rough night getting everything up again but still i'll forever love Linux ;)

Hah, that sounds very familiar. It stays a dangerous command.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65551.56
ETH 2659.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89