You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Use Linux Despite The Occasional Frustration And Inconvenience

in #linux7 years ago (edited)

I like to flip around OSes, yet two things stand out. Fedora is my go-to (with gnome desktop is nice, yet my hardware runs better on the mint desktop), and I only use Windows to play video games.
I caught on to the "phone home" game with Microsoft long ago, not to mention the shady and questionable executions of proprietary software on MUH MACHINE. No thank you. GNU/Linux please (I pay a lot of attention to Richard Stallman, though not QUITE as paranoid as thee ol man).


reddit

Though a bit more technical to get the hang of, once one does... the ease of use and multiple options to run are incredible. Choice of various servers (the internet runs on GNU/Linux), OSes for specific uses (education, science, multimedia, etc.), running from a pen drive, dual booting - the list goes on and on.

Fun with virtual machines or booting from CD/DVD or USB....
https://livecdlist.com/

Sort:  

I thought of mentioning the whole GNU/Linux nomenclature, but there's enough of that to fill another post! I love Stallman's spirit, but I'd like to see more people using Linux without getting bogged down by the politics of hybrid-sourced drivers.

Linux really does give us so many options. I've solved so many problems (even on Windows machines) by booting Puppy Linux from a thumb drive!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51