You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Use Linux Despite The Occasional Frustration And Inconvenience

in #linux7 years ago

I could not agree more. I also run Linux mint on about 8 year old hardware. Machine came with vista then put xp on it. Modern video would stutter but with mint 12 xfce it runs like lightening.

So many web apps these days all you really need is libre office and a browser I don't miss windows at all. It's also why iPad is great, you just don't need versatility of a pc anymore.
Only downside to mint was the driver support with that version was not great, I had to do a lot of manual workarounds but I have installed newer versions on other machines and wow! Everything works out of the box

Sort:  

It's great on these older computers, right?

I had a bunch of old machines that still ran just fine with Linux on them, but had to get rid of them for space. I couldn't justify running an ancient machine at 200 Watts when a Raspberry Pi had just as much computing power and ran on 10.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51