You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Use Linux Despite The Occasional Frustration And Inconvenience

in #linux7 years ago

I've invested too much work and time into Scrivener to give it up

me too. Except that I have it on a mac mini.

I'm NOT happy with OX....everything is HARD.

I've been telling myself I was going to Linux for a LONG time. I'm NOT a geek..I dislike having to 'fiddle'.

One day I'll say NO MORE...and finally take the leap.

Keep us posted please.

Sort:  

Will do, @everittdmickey!

You'd have to buy a new windows license for Scrivener, to run it under WINE. There is a Linux version available, but it's slightly out of date and might mangle anything you've written on a newer version.

It's actually downright simple to install Linux on a computer these days - maybe I'll write a quick tutorial. Download to installation 30 minutes max! It used to be so much harder.

The problems I run into now are pretty specific oddball use-cases (multi-monitor, tablet input, ect.) In the old days you could spend hours getting WiFi to work. Now it's mostly plug-and-play.

I had a Macbook as well, and was quickly disillusioned. I put Linux on that too!

I'm annoyed at Scrivner also..they keep sending UPDATES.
I don't want any steenkin updates...I liked it just like it was.
it's seriously screwed up my filing system as much as or even more so than OX
(gasp)
I'm almost ready to consider thinking about buying ANOTHER computer..just to get this mess sorted out.

You sound like a geek (and I mean that in the most complementary way)
What computer would you suggest?
Note: I have two big monitors which I love (another would be even nicer)
and
I use a wireless keyboard and a wireless trackball
(wires are so last century)

I'd recommend a used Thinkpad T420 or T430 and a docking station like the one in my second picture. The two together can be had for under $300 on eBay, usually with Windows installed. The docking station gives you outputs for two monitors (which is how I use it) so you can use it as a desktop, but you can still take the PC with you when you travel. Thinkpads are notoriously easy to install Linux on if you decide to try it out.

As for desktop computers, geez, you can get some amazing deals if you're not too concerned about performance. I guess you need a graphics card that can drive two screens. A quick look at eBay shows lots of decent work-horses for cheap. Here's one with two video out ports for $129.99. It uses "Displayport" connectors so you'd have to order cables that would work with your current monitors (if they're HDMI or DVI only) but it looks like a decent deal to me. I doubt that it would handle video games or video editing, but for everyday writing and posting should be fine.

I don't play games..
er...
that might be misinterpreted..
but you know what I mean..
I hope.
at any rate...all I do is surf the net , write and post.
I'll check into it.

It sounds like you should be able to get a good, solid machine on the cheap, then. Let me know how it turns out!

I haz idea.

you said that you were thinking about posts regarding linux?

how about expanding IMMENSELY into a series.

teach ignorant people like me how take a used machine..wipe the memory and operating system...install linux and go from there..

You've got my mental wheels turning, man!

I'm kicking myself because just before I discovered Steemit, I hauled a bunch of old computers to the dump. Would have made for great pictures of disassembly, switching out hard drives, ect.

But yeah, I think I could still put a few good posts together!

EXCELLENT
I'll hold off doing anything until you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56616.63
ETH 3026.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21