Libre Office & Emails

in #linux7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Maybe it's about time LibreOffice had an email client?

Libre Office is a free OpenSource productivity suite encompassing equivalent packages to Word, Excel , Access, PowerPoint and a Diagram program similar to Visio. Effectively it is the OpenSource equivalent to Microsoft Office except unlike Office it does not have a default email client.

Most people install, like myself, Thunderbird but there's a whole list of alternative email clients that will run on Windows as well as Linux. The other day I saw a request for email client suggestions on Google Plus and as you would expect Thunderbird was the top of most peoples suggestions although there's always one or two who have to come up with some obscure suggestion probably to try and set themselves apart? Anyway, it got me thinking. LibreOffice is pretty De rigueur on Linux systems but its never had its own mail client. Surely it can't all be down to the size of LibreOffice? What do you think?
Sort:  

I haven't even used Libre Office in I'm guessing a couple of years. Even then, it was just to print out some invoices, but I don't even do that anymore.

I don't guess that has anything to do with anything, but I do really like KMail and Thunderbird. I use Thunderbird on my work laptop and KMail on my home workstation. I prefer KMail because it is so powerful, and well, I seem to prefer anything KDE does.

I suppose KMail would be the most integrated and comparable to Outlook if you also use Kontact. That's what I have been doing for a long time now. It is pretty cool how they work together.

If you use a groupware like Kolab or NextCloud, you can expand all of these features to be able to collaborate with a team. All free and open source.

We live in amazing times!

So when I first forayed into Linux and OpenSource I was a KDE user. Back then KDE was very German, sparce, and pretty close in resemblance to Windows 95 and Office 97. Bwahahaha

I resisted the pull of that sexy Gnome for as long as possible but finally succumbed to that "Ooh look, shiny!"

Over the years I've tried all the DE's. :-)

Oddly, I prefer OpenBox and KDE, lol. Polar opposites. KDE went through some funk there for a while, but I'm really liking the newest stuff. Needs a reasonably hefty machine though.

See now OpenBox is great for having less bloat I just hated faffing around with configuration all the time to get things to work although that may have changed now?

I don't think it has changed in that regard, but there is always LXDE, which is OpenBox without the need to configure everything (I think).

Wow... I learnt something. Thank you

I can understand why programmers mainly start projects with tools they use themselves - I just made my own comic-website instead of trying to figure out how to install some of the alternatives already available. And I can undrestand why they try to improve and expand the functionality. But for a big system like Libre-office I think that just concentrating on the core task is the best

I use KMail and has done so for more than fifteen years - and I suppose that most people already has a client they like. It would be better if the open-source community could get on with some of the more important and yet unrealised projects like a working Voip, better tools for artists sic! the downfall of Facebook and Windows Office, the annihilation of Google and the slaughter of Apple... and... things like that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36