You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Use Linux Despite The Occasional Frustration And Inconvenience

in #linux7 years ago

I am not as patient as you are and I usually just get a new lapy every 2 years. Acers were the most disapointing of all. I love my toshiba tho....this baby is the only thing that managed to live over the 2 year cap of abuse. :) I am more or less a fan of windows, but never got to win 10 personaly (but have it on my work lap top and I am not really impressed). Linux? Never tried it....just sounds so...complicated. :)

Sort:  

It gets easier to install Linux every year! The challenge is working out whether the software you're using has a Linux equivalent.

A new computer every 2 years sounds like a lot of money though! My newest computer is four years old (and the one I actually use is 6!)

As technology goes I dont have any ipads, kindles, smart watches, play stations and im not much into phones. So when you take all the other gadgets and whatever the market offers nowdays out of the equation a lappy per 2 years is not much in my opinion. Then again i think i said it all in the first sentence....I am not a very patient woman when it comes to computers. Acers and their vents were a pain in the azz. The repair costs here are...well...its simply not worth it.

You're right - that's a pretty modest investment to make sure you have something that works for you! What do you do with the computers you're getting rid of?

Yeah I think people tend to forget how much stuff there is around us. I mean looking at my sisters household....1 stationary computer, one lap top, one very small lap top for work and mainly typing stuff, a gaming system (idk what kind), 2 tablets, 3 phones...etc. To crowded for my taste. I dont need a tablet for my couch time or my vacation time. I didnt even use my phone during my cruise for example. I just want one thing and I want it to do more or less all. :3

I get rid of them...meaning who ever wants it can repair it and have it. So one ended with my sister, one went to my school and ended in the workshop for the older kids, one even went to scrap (but that one had a lot of issues and in my way of thinking was unfixable) to a woman who makes jewlery out of computer parts. I dont resell if thats is what you were wondering.

I was just curious, as these electronics tend to pile up, and I'm always amazed at what perfectly functional stuff I find at the local landfill. It sounds like your "old" computers still have a long life ahead of them!

I'm with you on the tablets and phones. I'd rather have one device that I get a lot of use out of than a bunch of gadgets cluttering up my space.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48