You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Getting Rid of My Bras! (and connected thoughts)

in #lifestyle7 years ago

You're right about the media's role in crafting our culture's obsession with sex, and yeah, "chi-chis", as my son calls them. So good of you to find some of the specific ads that may have persuaded the ideals of beauty (in a misleading way). Great article, sister!

Sort:  

Back in the days before advertising had to be so subliminal...it was just in our faces. Today the message is the exact same, but it is delivered in much more psychologically subtle ways.

I feel like vintage ads are truly naked advertising in a sense...and it worked. It told people, fairly directly, what to think, and in turn, the people think those things. We still are fighting those stigmas today. Mind-boggling, really.

Thanks for checking out the article and letting me know it resonated with you! I appreciate it!!

Oh my, yes, I think you've hit the nail on the head with your summary of the Golden Age of advertising compared to modern advertising. I'm anxious to see more of your shares. Checking out your blog next.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43