RoofTop Concert for the Homeless -- TAKE THE POWER BACK ! --

in #lifestyle8 years ago (edited)

Imgur

On July 15, 2016 I was asked to accompany the clothing brand S A V A G E LIFESTYLE APPAREL to a concert in Skid Row Downtown Los Angeles. The band was Prophets of Rage, and the venue was a roof top. Of course I was in.

I called a few friends to see if they wanted to go, but they all refused. They did not want to come to Skid Row, their loss. The 3 main Prophets are :
B-REAL of Cypress Hill
Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine
Chuck D of Public Enemy

Imgur
Tom was looking at My Cam, cool!

Since Tom Morello has a history of helping the homeless, this was the perfect way for the band to give back. There were also members from Black Lives Matter Group in support of The Homeless and their rights.
Imgur Imgur)

The show was to start at about 4:30PM. Here is a list of the set that was played followed by some more pics of that day and a link to some videos of the Rooftop Concert. The best part was when the band went down into the crowd to Rock Out!
Imgur

1. “Prophets of Rage”
2. “Guerilla Radio”
3. “(Rock) Superstar”
4. “Testify”
5. “Hand on the Pump” / “Can’t Truss It” / “Insane in the Brain” / “Bring the Noise” / “I Ain’t Going Out Like That” / “Welcome to the Terrordome”
6. “The Party’s Over”
7. “No Sleep Till Brooklyn” / “Fight the Power”
8. “Bulls on Parade”
9. “Killing in the Name”

Imgur

This did take me back to the peak days of Cypress Hill And Rage Against the Machine. Hope you guys enjoy the pictures. I wish I had better shots but since I was there as a guest, I had to tread lightly around the other photographers. This was a really fun and eye opening event. I live 5 minutes walk from here and it can seem a world away. It actually is a world away. But I will be back to the LA Community Action Network to see what I can do to help.

Imgur

Imgur)

Imgur
There even was time for a little "smoke break"

Imgur

The Prophets of Rage are still on Tour for a few more months. Check out their site HERE for more information. Here is a link for some really cool videos of the Skid Row show.
http://loudwire.com/prophets-of-rage-free-rooftop-show-skid-row-los-angeles/
Full $teem Ahead!


8/20/16
@streetstyle
My Top Blogs
- Intl. Fugitive Manhunt
- What is Steemd.com?

sources:
wikipedia.com
loudwire.com
photo cred. @streetstyle

Sort:  

good job @streetstyle take this upvote

Glad you enjoyed @levycore . Wasn't sure if anyone would. I do live a strange life so stay tuned for more, and/or check out some of my past blogs
full $teem ahead!
@streetstyle

Nice shots. I'd love to catch them live, such icons in their genres. A super supergroup!

Thanks @azurejasper I appreciate it and thanks for the up vote. Those 'up votes' need to spread around more I say.
full $teem ahead!
@streetstyle

It's good that people were rockin' out for the homeless! Good to bring some upbeat vibes to their lives. Many have had hard times...it's good, even if only for a few hours, to feel free with music in the background. Rock on!

Yes @tfeldman it was a feel good event. This also this bring some media attention to the plight of the homeless. Los Angeles has one of the biggest if not biggest homeless community in the country, all under the shadow of some the riches companies. The City of Los Angeles has no choice but to attempt to address this situation. I believe they have allocated some money but it is a delicate balance between Homeless rights and City governance.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55