You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Getting Rid of My Bras! (and connected thoughts)

in #lifestyle7 years ago

Good for you! My wife and many of our friends (women) opt out as well, unless needed during exercising, etc.

The "bra" industry is big business, like oil companies, teaching girls at age 10 they have to strap these contraptions to their chest and body-shamming women to sell un-needed products. Afterall, your female nipples are far more shameful than my male nipples - so cover those things up. [sarcasm]

If a women has large breasts and needs support, they have the option, but to make it a "forced obligation" by society is harmful to self-image.

Sort:  

@steempowerpics This exactly. All the way, my friend. It's amazing to me how impactful this industry is on young women, and on young men's image of women...it plays a much bigger role than we give it credit most of the time, I think.

I also totally agree with you in regard to the choice aspect of all of this. I understand that some ladies just need a bra...and I'd count that in my sort of "list of reasons" that I encourage all ladies to look inward and examine about themselves...because it's really about our reasons for doing it.

I couldn't find any, so I stopped. When I was working retail and in a business where (for some reason) wearing a bra is equated with a level of hygiene (I take the same amount of showers lol), I figured I'd just wait until I wasn't doing that anymore and then make the change.

I also really appreciate the number of men who truly are behind a woman's choice in this regard. I live in the epicenter of the Free The Nipple Movement, and I have honestly been so impressed with the number of gentlemen who speak up on this topic in support and do not just brush it off as nothing...because it is something.

Always good to hear from you! Cheers!

Yeah it's one of those things, just burnt into the social fabric so much it's hard to break out of it. We and our close network opt for the nude beach over "normal" beaches if they are available. It's an instant lesson in "being happy in your own skin" and not judging anyone else by body type.

People forget that up until around 1903-ish ( I forget the exact year) men HAD to wear shirts to the beach and cover their chests in public. It was brought to court, and of course in the male-dominated world, men we allowed to go shirtless, but the law still forced women to cover up. Even then it took years for it to be publicly acceptable to see men shirtless.

We still have friends who are attached to bras like they are protective gear. Openly admitting they are not "big" enough to require support, but the only defense for continuing to wear them is "because we're supposed to". It's an answer I have problems with.

It's going to take time and effort to break free of it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43