👨‍💼 My Entrepreneurial Revelation on the 9-5 Lifestyle

in #lifestyle6 years ago

9-5.png

Hey, Everyone!

This past week was my first week working full-time as a social media marketer for a logistics company in Southern California. What an amazing experience! I know most people that have full-time jobs would not necessarily consider their jobs to be an amazing experience, but I found it fascinating. Allow me to explain my entrepreneurial revelation.

****Drum roll please****

Building a business is hard.

Big revelation, right? To be more specific, building a business requires more money than I thought it would and it requires a lot more of a time investment than I thought it would. Before I started my business projects, I thought the concepts of "you need money to make money" and "building a business takes a long time" were just concepts waiting to be challenged.

I originally despised the thought of "working for the man." I never wanted to get a full-time job because I thought that meant I was giving up on my entrepreneurial dreams since instead of working 40 hours a week for my own dreams and success, I would be working 40 hours a week for the dreams and the success of another person. It was not a position that I wanted to put myself in. But after working on my business for some time, I realized that I was quickly running out of capital to invest. So instead of continuing the spiral downward, I decided to swallow my pride and take the next opportunity that presented itself for stable income.

pexels-photo-380769.jpeg

Part of the revelation was that it's okay for starting entrepreneurs to have a full-time job. After this experience, I would actually encourage starting entrepreneurs to make sure they have a job before starting a business venture. I say this because there is no guarantee a business will become successful and it's a lot better to have a steady flow of income instead of struggling because the business of your dreams is not providing you with the money you hoped. A huge part of becoming an entrepreneur is going through a time period of more failures than successes. But that's what makes us stronger and that's what makes victory sweeter!

All in all, I would say this 1 week of working full-time has truly humbled me. I honestly love doing what I do and so I don't mind driving to the office and grinding out 8 hours of work. But I will say that it has made me realize even more that I can't live this 9-5 lifestyle for my whole life. I understand some people will stay in a 9-5 job for their whole lives, but not me. I have an entrepreneurial mindset and my life will not be complete until I have a thriving business with a residual based income.

Revelation Summary:

  • A full-time/part-time job is sometimes necessary for starting entrepreneurs
  • If a young entrepreneur approached me and asked me if getting a job is worth it, I would say yes
  • Having a job allows you to network with other professionals

Honestly, I already knew these things before I started my current job. It just allowed me to open my eyes and get rid of my pride. It's time to build up my experience, establish long-term business relationships, and cash in some checks. If anything, this full-time job is providing me with a better platform to launch my entrepreneurial career. It's go time.

Best Wishes!

o n t h e r o a d (3).jpg

Sort:  

@masteranibal fantastic post. I completely agree with the idea it's okay for new Entrepreneurs to have a full-time job. Quite frankly I think it's probably actually the better scenario. If your 22 years old and fresh out of college fine, I suppose you can spend 6 months taking a risk and trying to hack it on your own, but I think most Entrepreneurs are going to find that Entrepreneurship and earning money outside of a 9 to 5 job is actually a longer learning curve adn someething your going to gradually scale up and earn more as you go until it gets to the point that you can leave your job, but I think very few people are going to go from zero to Entrepreneur in one swoop.

I ran my business for several years while working a full-time 50 hour per week job and I was doing an ecommerce business where I actually had to pack and ship and dropoff orders everyday, it wasn't something where I could take a day off or chill out when work and life got busy.

I did it for several years and my income from the business was making probably 3x what my job was paying before I left. I was probably overly cautious but I definitely think not having a need to bring money in asap is a huge benefit to a business and will allow you to make longer term decisions and plays as opposed to being in a rush to bring in money to support yourself and maybe being shortsighted in ones thinking and decision making.

Awesome post

I love this response. Reality hit me really hard when my business ventures didnt' reach the level that I had hoped. But it was a good reality check. I've been working with this company for a little more than a week and I have already learned so much about the crypto world. The industry is amazing and it's only the beginning. I'm extremely excited for what is to come.

Thanks for the comment, @clickfunnels!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

@tts How do I get you to annotate my videos?

I've never asked for the audio service. I believe it's just a bot that goes around and provides the service for free in the hopes that the creator will get some upvotes from it. Pretty cool service, to be honest.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63607.06
ETH 3476.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51