I'm going on a 30 day CONTENT fast.

in #lifestyle7 years ago

Social media. Dare I say more?

We all know that sites like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, and many others are specifically designed to maintain our attention for extended periods of time. That's how they're built.

Despite this, I keep finding myself ensnared in the social media trap. It's like I enter this portal that allows me to time travel, except only one way, and it moves at lightspeed. The more I find myself at the end of each time travel trip, I curse the social media gods for being so damn good at what they do.

But for the next 30 days, my plan is to cut out every single kind of content imaginable. This means no Youtube, no Netflix, no Twitter, and so on. The only plan is to try to create content where I would usually post, but without the consumption of any media on those sites.

And I won't lie, I'm scared to death about this idea. The only reason that I'm doing it, or trying to do it is because I've been slacking off more and more, and the way things are going, pretty soon I'll be old and alone in my parents' basement. That is, if Florida homes could support basements.

So on one hand, I'm excited because I've had a few unsuccessful attempts at trying to control my social media intake before, but each "fast" only lasted a few days. But maybe this time, it'll be for the long term. There's this thing I read somewhere, that said that it takes 21 days to develop a new habit. We'll see how that goes.

The main reason why I'm documenting it here is because 1: I want to have a place to document my experience and hopefully keep me accountable. And 2: because some of my previous content (from July 2017) actually gained a bit of revenue.

That's right folks, I'm in it for the fame and the fortune.

For right now though, Im doing this more for me. I'm not sure yet as to what my niche on this platform will be, or how I'll be able to provide any added value to people who follow me, but I hope by the end of this content fast I'll have a better idea.

So welcome aboard, that is, if you want to follow me. If not, it's quite alright. Honestly, I'm not really expecting anything to come of this other than hopefully by the end I would have changed a bit and become slightly more responsible.

Wish me luck. I'll need all I can get!

download (4).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @kava! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kava! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50