My House is a Mess

in #lifestyle2 years ago

I had been absent from the blog for past few days. The reason being unable to create content. There's so much going on at my house that I am hardly getting any time to put together something interesting. But I was missing writing (I don't even know if it's a thing) so thought to come by and share what's keeping me away. Since morning, I am also catching up with what you guys are upto.

It's a little hard to focus with the drilling and scraping sounds that I get to hear all day long. You got that right; I have carpenters, plumbers, painters and flooring guys at home.

We live in a government house and in Pakistan they are usually in really bad shape. This house was built in early 1900s with hardly few renovations. There are plumbing issues like some goof-head mason threw cement in the drain which blocked half of the drain passage. As a result, every month water starts overflowing in the kitchen.

There is seepage on an entire wall of guest bedroom.

Termites seem to love this home and are slowly eating all the doors and drawers.

We got fixed everything before moving to this home two years ago. We were supposed to leave this home by now but are stuck here for another year. So, it's time to get everything fixed once again.

Oh, and I forgot to mention the vinyl flooring that is in really bad shape now, coming off from different places. Since the house is ancient, it has chips flooring which looks very outdated and untidy because of the permanent stains of the flooring that previous residents had. We had to install new carpets and vinyl tiles. But the tiles' life is over now, and we had to buy new ones. I have some guys over who are scarping the old ones and then the carpet guy will install the new one.

Before this, the carpenter was fixing the termite eaten drawer of my cupboard.

To top it all, by the end of this week, my parents-in-laws are coming, and the guest bedroom is in really bad shape. I spent the whole Sunday, organizing that room and there's still some work to do.


I haven' taken the pictures of the mess, it wasn't worth recording. Perhaps, I will share the before and after post when things are done.


There were some good things about the week as well but it's all random stuff. Doesn't fit into this post.


All house maintenance tips are welcome.


event-horizon
12/09/2022

25% of the rewards of this post will go to @pak-charity with the aim to help flood victims.

Sort:  

Oha. The best tip I can give you: relax! Enjoy a game with your children, enjoy the beautiful flowers in the garden and the rustle of the trees. The broken flooring will still be there tomorrow, but the children will have grown, the flowers will have faded and then the big regret will come...

This was a much needed reminder. We often neglect kids in the adult stuff and regret later. I'm not perfect but I do try to spend as much time as I can with them in these early years.

By the way, I just came out of the McDonald's (made with pillows).

Oh, I can only sympathize with you. Renovation in the place where you live is always a disaster.

Although renovation is not big but staying at the same place is really not fun. I like my morning peaceful and quiet but it's loud these days. Good thing is half the work is done.

Your article has been supported with a 50% upvote by @karianaporras from Team 2 of the community curator program. We encourage you to keep producing quality content on Steem to enjoy more support from us and a likely spot in our weekly top 5.

20220902_095909_0000.png

I can only imagine this situation...about the noise from those renovation machines or tools.

Normally, i don't like noise, i can't even think..., not even write in a noisy environement.

But i hope this would be fixed soon and you will have a noiseless environement once again.

For now.., you can just be observing all the activities..and perhaps come up with a publication relating what you have noticed during such renovations.

For now.., you can just be observing all the activities..and perhaps come up with a publication relating what you have noticed during such renovations

That's a good idea. I will think about it.

Ah it must be really difficult for you! But at the same time I'm sure you must be really excited too for the transformation. Finally you'll get rid of those termite eaten cupboards :D what a sight that would be i can only imagine lol
Do let your friends know if you need any kind of help. :D

now i can imagine thisss~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46