Minimalism Saves Money

in #lifestyle7 years ago (edited)

It has been said that "less is more". This made me wonder if less could actually give more money. There is a movement called The Minimalist where you get rid of or give away most of your possessions and learn to live with less items. Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus are well known minimalists who are helping people to achieve this. I began trying this and found that it is a freeing concept and lifestyle to learn to keep and buy only what you realistically need.

When you keep only the essentials, it eliminates the attitude of hanging on to items because "I might need it one day.". One of the minimalist founder's uses a 90 day rule of giving something away if it has not been used in 90 days. It is going beyond just clearing out your closet, it is a complete overhaul of everything you own, and then sticking to the new essential lifestyle.

There are some of you who may be thinking that this will be too difficult to give away or throw out perhaps 75% of what you own, but look at this way, you get to choose what you realistically need to keep. It could be said that my minimalist journey actually began in a very extreme way through a house fire. It was through a 5 alarm 2 story house fire in 2015 where I and our family had no choice in what to get rid of. Most thankfully our 5 Children, my hubby and I escaped the fire, but in 25 minutes we were completely homeless. You have the option to give away your unneeded items to a church or charity. What you give away could be another person's essentials. Our community did this for us. In giving away unused items you are not only helping others but you're also helping yourself to live an uncluttered lifestyle along with teaching yourself to save money by only buying what is needed for that day, or week. We all have a tendency to over spend by buying duplicate items or more than we actually need. Once you start, you will see quickly what you need and don't really need or use.

Start small and go around the house with a small bag, box or laundry basket everyday and look for things that realistically are no longer used by you. When you do this then you can begin setting limits and only buy items when you run out or when they are worn out. This in turn saving you money.
To learn more you can visit their website https://www.theminimalists.com
The founders of the movement have a film at. https://minimalismfilm.com
Have you already tried Minimalism? If so comment below. I would love to know how it went for you.
There are also many videos on youtube by people who have tried it for a week. This one is a 30 day guide. Happy minimalizing!

Sort:  

Agreed, less is more. Love minimalism. Saves a lot of time, money, tears, pain.

Good hear you have tried this too!

Attachment breeds all sorts of nasty mental conditions in ways most of us don't recognize. The main barrier to giving a thing or a relationship up is usually guilt or fear. I think the key is balance. Balancing your mental desire to be free of this stuff with a healthy respect for yourself and your resistance. Just being thoughtful about the subject, without actually giving anything up is a good way to start. I liked your post.

Great input! Thank you glad you enjoyed the post. I'm new and it's great to be here.

Thanks, I'm new too and trying to figure out how I can contribute. Stuff like this is kind of my thing although I don't usually share it with anyone in my life. I can testify that there are big rewards to simplifying. The problem is people think of it as having less when the opposite is true. The idea is to have a fuller life, and not "fuller" like you might read in some pseudo spirituality book and roll your eyes, I mean a life with better content. Good luck on your future posts.

If you use youtube, there are alot of great channels from people on topic s like this. I spend much time over there, but I don't make topic videos. (maybe I should lol ) I too find this lifestyle more fullfilling in many ways. I look forward to reading your blog and will follow you. Thanks for posting.

Hi! I am new, so I am learning how to work this site lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54