Death or Paradise. Final Round

in #lifesfacade6 years ago (edited)




The Professor

I am Royce Hinkley, doctor in neurosciences graduated from the University of Cambridge and professor of the same University, I was lethargic in a state of deep sleep for some 13 minutes, all the vicissitudes that I experienced during that oneiric odyssey felt so real and passed in front of my eyes with the fierce speed of a gazelle... Now being wide awake, it’s difficult for me to assimilate all the crushing events that my mind reproduced, but I was dragged to the harsh reality, one that is not so hopeful and even surpasses my worst nightmares; I find myself lying on the sand, surrounded by seven strangers, in the middle of a desert island, languishing in the absence of supplies and food, in this filthy place I obviously cannot finish my experiment, –looking back on what my life was like, my current situation couldn’t be more imperishable –I think.


Being an inveterate nihilist, it’s not surprising that I find myself in the deepest bothering when they forced me to participate in recreational activities that they organizes daily, I find those activities so superfluous, their forced jokes don’t cause me any grace, I haven’t even taken the time to meet them or ask for their names, they are such simple beings, only vile mundane who don’t question anything, I cannot conceive my life next to such troglodytes, therefore, being someone who focuses in the discovery of everything that are truly important and that prioritizes the search for answers to the unintelligible, I quickly became bored with that lifestyle and therefore I leave the group to travel the island, an expression of disdain is generalized throughout my face when venturing into the heart of the islet, –without having so much expectations to find something that really captivates me, perhaps I had already imagined so many terrible scenes that there’s no room for the hope of some interesting eventuality –. I start to see the palm trees and the leafy grass that looms on the horizon, I go inside in the jungle to focus on collecting as many supplements as I can pick, I’m not very adept at survival, but I do what I can with my limited experience in that area, –I think I had some luck today –I think while I carry my bag full of five coconuts that I took from the palm trees. As I walk along the beach, I notice some catfish swimming on the banks, I take out my knife and prepare myself to hunt them, but I fail in the attempt, –Well, I failed to get my dinner –I think irritated.


The sky begin to get darker and for that reason I decide to return again to the place where those idiots are. When arriving at the coast, I contemplate a bonfire in which they are all talking, I sit with them and for mere leisure I’m ready to analyze their behaviors in detail, that's when I see clearly the true nature of them: the first to the extreme right is a vain Hollywood actress with diva airs, her name is Ginger Grant, a not very interesting woman, her ego consumed her inside, she idealizes herself as the unique female in her style, –but without doubt she’s the most ordinary woman I've ever seen –I think with boredom; next to her there's a couple of elderly people of high status, Mr. and Mrs. Howell, –I have never liked the bourgeoisie and those ones have all the appearance of being two fucking greedy oligarchs –I think guided by disgust; in the middle is the Captain, who is nicknamed "Skipper," –a stubborn guy who cannot cause me more indifference –I think dominated by the purest indifference, their common aspect didn’t cacth my attention at all; When I look at the far left I see two specimens that would be perfect as test subjects for my new experiment, it was the naive farm girl Mary Ann and a charismatic boy named Gilligan, my passion for scientific research aroused in me a vivid curiosity and this time, in the middle of an island completely isolated from civilization, there was no one who could repress my desires to experiment on humans, –this time, the intuition cannot fail me, these subjects fit perfectly with the profile I need –I whisper intrigued. Oh, I almost forgot the Vessel S. S. Minnow (@erodedthoughts) that is stranded on the horizon, so imperturbable and silent, –it’s so quiet, sometimes I don’t even notice its presence –I think. Then I decide that I must break the ice to persuade them.


“Mary Ann and Gilligan, that's what you call yourselves, isn’t it? I'm afraid we haven’t known us yet... My name is Royce, by the way, you seem thirsty, I was wondering if you both wanted to drink the delicious coconut water I brought from the jungle,” I express with eloquence rather than forced.

"Well, I dunno about Gilligan, but I'm that thirsty that I could drink all the seawater if I could!” The candid farmer Mary Ann replies between laughs.

“Well, no more words women! Cut those coconuts now!” Vociferates excited the fool of Gilligan.

I cut the coconuts with a machete that belonged to the captain and I dilute a narcotic drug in the water of the same, the boys taste each sip without noticing the drug in the substance, –this plan is great –I think with a picaresque expression on my face.

Mary Ann and Gilligan fall flat on the ground for half an hour, I pick them up with extreme subtlety because I wouldn’t want to create scandal, I must handle everything with extreme secrecy, and put them in a cave that is in the vicinity of the jungle. These two guys are perfect containers for my avant-garde experiment that would revolutionize modern neuroscience, I start by injecting them with a psychotropic substance created by me in one of my secret laboratories and that had never been tested before, this will help me study new reactions in the right lobe of their right brain hemispheres, after analyzing their behavior in detail, it would only be enough to administer some hallucinogens, because with that fusion of substances, according to my theory, both Mary Ann and Gilligan would become mere puppets without willing that will obey all kinds of orders.

But my ambitious experiment is interrupted due to the sudden arrival of the actress Ginger Grant and her fellows, who realized my plan and made a plan with the other assholes, –She followed me to the grotto to ruin everything –I think exasperated.


“But what are you doing? I won’t let you hurt those kids, get away from them!” Ginger expresses with a throaty voice.

“I think it is evident that you are experimenting with them, what a mischief Miss Hinkley was!” vociferates dominated by disgust the Mr. Howell.

“What I do is for the common good, can’t you see? This is the future of humanity!” I answer his words with a tone full of fascination.

"You're harming them, we won’t allow you to use them as some of your laboratory rats," Ginger’s viperine tongue retorts bluntly. “Ginger is right, what you are doing here is a dirty act of heresy! -vociferates the conservative Mrs. Eunice Howell.

“What a stupid hateful bitch! Can’t you see how insolent are you? Doesn’t it make you ashamed? You daren’t to interrupt the experiment that will change the history of mankind! You don’t even have a small idea of the magnitude of all this!” I answer enervated.

"I always knew you were a weirdo, but I never thought you were a psychopath," Grant replies.

“You all are so idiots! We’re all probably the destiny of humanity and you only think of irrelevant shit! Open your imbecile minds!” I say furiously.

“I'm afraid you've lost your sanity, we won’t let those kids down, so Professor Royce, get away as soon as possible from those guys or I'll have to take drastic actions,” says Captain Skipper with a disturbing voice.

“You all are ignorant beings, you all will never understand the importance of this investigation,” I answer while I take the boys to flee from the cave.


While I run, they all follow me to stop me, it starts to rain and my eyesight get blind, but in a matter of minutes, I reach the coast and I enter the Vessel S. S. Minnow with the bodies, -I guess you’re the only friend I have right now -I suppose.

Inside it, I’m about to finish the experiment, but soon begins to tremble strongly on the boat and as if it were my accomplice, it begins to move, –I will finally get out of this pigsty, thanks friend –I think full of joy.

While sailing in the middle of the ocean, Ginger and her fellows appear on the ship, –Fuck! They apparently entered in the back –I think.

“Hahahaha! Do you really think you're the only one who will escape of this island?" Vociferates Ginger and her fellows.

The storm becomes stronger and begins to lash the Vessel Minnow, which doesn’t stand for long and the ship begins to fill with water, –I cannot die in this way, not before finishing the experiment –I think. But it’s already very late, a maelstrom of colossal proportions drags us with a huge force towards the abyssal depths, –It is a fact that I will die –I think anguished.

"I suppose we have nothing to do boys, we will die in the middle of nowhere," I reply with ironic laughter, –it was the only thing I had left –I suppose.


I wake up in the Vessel S. S Minnow and then I see on the horizon a strange city full of sophisticated architecture and advanced technology beyond our comprehension, its inhabitants are strange humanoids, reptilian-looking people who speak an unknown language, they are dressed in gold and seem to be very polite.

“Are you all seeing the same as me?” I answer amazed by it.

“Well of course!” Answer Mary Ann and Gilligan loudly.

"This place surpasses even the best Hollywood studios," says Ginger.

“It is the most elegant place we have seen, its beauty is worth admiring,” responds Mrs. Howell. "This is certainly an anthology moment," replies Mr. Howell.

“This cannot be true, maybe this is…”

“So it is Captain Skipper, it coincides in several points with the Plato’s descriptions, there’s no doubt, we can feel happy to be the first humans to step on the lost continent, Atlantis,” I reply excited.

We’re all stunned while we’re contemplating the majesty of this place, –I need to see all its extension and familiarize myself with the culture of this advanced civilization, from now I will dedicate my whole life to document all these adventures through letters, without doubt this’ll be something that will remain in the annals of history! –I think dominated by the fascination that causes me to contemplate the beauty of this mythical continent.




Why did I choose Professor Roy Hinkley?



I think he is one of the most interesting and captivating characters of the classic series "Gilligan's Island", I identify with him for being a lover of science, we really share that passion for the unknown and therefore I decided to adapt it in this version, in this version he’s a strict doctor called Royce Hinkley (female), which retains the essence of Roy, but I also decided to give my touch to be a fresh character and different from the original.



Sources (Images): Img 1Img 2Img 3Img 4Img 5Img 6Img 7Img 8Img 9



If you want to read the other rounds of the contest created by @erodedthoughts, here are the links:

Paradise or Death. Round 1

Paradise or Death. Round 2

Death or Paradise. Round 3



Sort:  

Very cool. I do hate to disappoint you but we were all in drug-induced comas and only believed we were on Gilligans Island. The other survivors were caught in their own old reruns. Lucky we weren't stuck in The Munsters. 😁 LOL..

Great work on getting curied.

Envy kills the soul and poisons it. Work and let others work. And the creator of the story continues like this remember that the apple tree everyone wants to throw stones. @insideoutlet You should have a little respect if you do not win is because you are not the writer of the best content.

Regards.

Freddysanchez

Sorry, I'm not sure if I have upset you @freddysanchez, but if I have I think you have misunderstood me. I was using humour same as if I was to engage with @erodedthoughts, I just assumed that if you were part of his game then you would get the humour. I loved the story and was genuinely saying great work on getting curied, no jealousy, I am always looking for things to send through to @curie and am a potential curator on the Curie Discord Channel. Please take no offence in my words and I hope that @jhnmunoz took none. Best of luck with the game.

Kind Regards,
@insideoutlet

P.S. I think it's a little inappropriate to be insulting my writing, let alone down voting my comment. I never said anything but good stuff about the writer, I had just hoped he would pop on over and read my story to see the jest and engage with me.

Hello guys, to my thinking steemit is a platform to make friends, to publish original content and respect the point of view and creativity of others, maybe it was a misunderstanding and @insideoutlet just wanted to make a joke to @jhnmunoz which is a great writer, and @freddysanchez thought that @insideoutlet was less valued their work, for me as I said it was a misunderstanding and should not reach greater here we are all participant and partners.


Truly sorry it must be some humour anglosajón. To tell the truth I do not like to say much and less about these things, but I admire the dedication and work of the people who write, maybe some do it better than others but that is about learning and improving. At first glance I thought it was a mockery of the author's work and I get upset then I read better and reconsider and you're right it was a game. I recognize that both stories are good and although I participated and I liked the challenge I think I'm not the winner I recognize the quality when I see it.

A thousand times apologies.

And may the best win

Regards

Freddy Sanchez


Apology accepted @freddysanchez, I really meant no offence and did think it may have been a language barrier. Have a great night.

That's right, I thought about that too.

Thanks and regards.

Freddy Sanchez

I think the same, that was the barrier of communication because translation can be misinterpreted, since the language is different and the translator sometimes does not translate well, like here we are all a family and as in all families there are problems and it is human to err and of wise to ratify

I am pleased to see how this was resolved in a beautiful way, like the great family that we are, with maturity and respect, which we all deserve.

I think, I will have to spank all of you for fighting. You all did an awesome job completing the four rounds. Each person brought their own creativity and personality to each round. Everyone should feel very good about completing the game and as soon as I finish my post about the winner you can all see what my final choice was.

Love you all!!!

Nicely done! I love the twist and turns and the personality interwoven into the entire story.

Thank you! I enjoyed so much this contest!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jhnmunoz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40