A Series Of The Lessons I've Learnt from Life..Part C

in #lifelessons6 years ago

I started a series last week to share the life lessons I had learned. I dropped two posts already and I had to take the weekend to look back at my life and my experiences so far, so I can share more. Here are the links to the previous lessons.

Part A, where I talked about relationships and debt
Part B, I talked about Fun been underrated, failure, anger, kindness, age, and grudges.

I do hope you find them useful and applicable to your own life.


Image - Flickr CCO(Creative Commons)

So off to today’s lesson…

Travelling expands you.

Taking time out to visit new places and new cultures makes you a more interesting, insightful, and accepting person. With the knowledge you’ve gathered from your travels, it would be difficult to be held down by the stereotypes others have projected. Not only does it make you more accepting, it enlightens you, and teaches you about the variety of people, lifestyles, and cultures.

Giving you a well-grounded opinion about the world you are in, and not restricting yourself to just the opinion of others.

You aren't always right.

I most especially fall prey to this countless number of times. I believe I have a gift, the ability to find solutions in a completely rare manner coupled with my education. So in most situations, I fail to adhere to the instructions of others, maybe because I feel I have enough knowledge to be right. And I often always end up being wrong.
It amazes me sometimes, that even after learning this, it’s the most difficult to live by. Maybe it’s just human nature.


Image Source

The truth is, we think we have the answers, we know what's right and wrong, what’s best for ourselves and for others. But we aren't always right.
There's always more than one version and many valid perspectives. Keep yourself open to that truth because all we know, all we have learned and all we are, when shared with others would always remain as our opinion, not the absolute solution or truth, just our opinion. And this is because of the magical word called perspective…

It will pass.

96b5c9da-ff87-4882-8958-3f84a556f680.jpg
Image Source

There are days when it felt like my world would cave in, where I thought about giving up and finding what awaits me in the afterlife. But I’m here today, with lessons from those experience, alive and ready to fight on. The common thing I’ve learned from all those times was, it always ended. So whatever is causing you to worry or whatever is causing you pain right now won't cause you to worry and be in pain forever. It will pass. Time heals, things change.

Little things matter.

The truth is that, when it matters, all you would remember or be remembered for are the little things. That kind smile that gave that suicide-prone individual a reason to go on. Upholding integrity above greed, sacrificing your little change so that tattered beggarly child can eat. Those are what counts, the most.
A writer said,

Many times it’s the little things that can make a big difference.
It is the simple lives that can truly count
And it is the small deeds done with great love that can change the world.

Steemit shows us so many examples of this every day. For me, it was the $100 upvote on my introductory post, which gave me the ability to trust in what I write. He may not have read the post, but been really broke and seeing a stranger vote me with a $100 for what I felt was substandard work, gave me the motivation to continue. It really isn't about the big wins, or the great accomplishments, or your status in life.
It's the accumulation of little things — The clarity of the sky on a winter night, the laughter of your kids, seeing the smile on the one you love absolutely when you walk in the door.

These are the things that count, pay attention to them.

Stay tuned for the next part if comes out tomorrow.

DQmTCpzMAPPvK3BENSD7X1BhmF8oTbc1jdkrkczsd9TsKhN.gif

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

I agree with you. Traveling is an essential part of life. It is also a great way of learning too.

Yea, that's true. Nice of you to drop by

I missed out on the earlier series, but thank God i can pull it down from the blockchain. Wow, you must have had a grand entry with a 100$ prize into steemit. Mine was. Below expectation but the fire kept burning and i kept growing.

This is a lovely piece, i would try and keep up with the rest.

Thinking about it now, that wasn't my best work, and I honestly don't think I deserved it. But it changed me, and that's what matters.

Thank you for nice words, I look forward to your comment on the next one. Would love to hear your thoughts

Travelling expands you

I totally agree with you. a traveller gathers a lot of knowledge

True 👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33