Somethings Aren't Worth Holding On To!

in #lifelesson6 years ago (edited)

My family and I were blessed to be able to hang out at my wife's brother's lakehouse this weekend. We all enjoyed the water and some time on the boat.

The highlight of my weekend and the topic of this post was TUBING. If you have never tubed before, I can simplify the goal of this heart-racing activity in just two words - HANG ON!

IMG_9267.JPG

Hangin Out And Hanging On With The Kiddos


My three older kiddos absolutely loved being on the tubes. And it did not take them long to understand the goal. Say it with me - Hang on!

My oldest, Purple Panda, told me, "I can't believe I fell off two times." I never told her the goal, but she knew it. Holding on the longest is a sign of strength and skill. Holding on the longest feeds our competitive spirits. And even in my littles understood that holding on was the goal.

The Big Kids Wanna Play


After the kiddos took some rounds, my brother-in-law and I wanted to show off our skills. Remember that hanging on is the goal. The driver was now more determined to throw off the grown-up kids from the tubes. The speed increased and the maneuvers became more challenging.

My arms started wearing out, but I had a glimmer of hope that I could outlast my brother-in-law. Whipping back around from left to right, my tube slid under the edge of my competitor's tube (aka brother-in-law) and as he laid his tube back flat on the water, I flipped. My wife told me that I was able to hold on for a few seconds while being dragged underwater.

And at last, my fingers let go and I was floating in the water waiting for the boat to come back around. I don't remember holding on for that long. All I can remember is that when I came to the surface, my first deep breath was filled with lake water.

Somethings Aren't Worth Holding On To!

Do you remember the goal of tubing? Say it with me, "Hold on!" That's was the goal until it was not.

At some point, the goal changed. There was a moment (while I was underwater) that the goal changed from hanging on to letting go. There was a moment when the goal stopped focusing on fun and adventure and started focusing on survival.

I made a clear decision to let go.

Thing I Have to Let Go Of


Over the last 24 hours, my brain started thinking about the idea of letting go. The following is short list of some things I need evaluate.

  • Pride - I prefer to receive a compliment over criticism because I want to look good in the eyes of other people. My pride manifests itself differently than other people, but it is a struggle in my life. You can hear it in my words (as subtle as they may be), especially when I am trying to tell a story that is just "a little bit better" than the one just told.
  • Selfishness - Why I am still so self-centered? How come focusing on myself and my needs is so easy? Being a husband and a father has taught me a lot about who I am and my struggles. Sacrificially giving is not a skill many of us naturally have (myself included), and for many of us, it takes years of practice to think of others without regard to our own desires.
  • Misguided Dreams - I have a lot of dreams and goals. I dream big anticipating a greater future for myself and my family. And while I want to continue to dream big, I must also evaluate how those dreams impact the present. I am constantly reminded that I am neither slave to the past or future, but that I am tasked with living life well in the present. When dreams are thought out with intentionality, mighty things can happen. When they are misguided, they become anchors that hold us in the past.
  • Self Defeating Thoughts - This may seem like a contradiction to my last point, but I know that I often am my greatest opponent of experiencing significant change in my life. As much as I dream big, I am equally gifted at talking myself out of ideas and opportunities that have great potential. When we speak something often enough, we weld the power to make it true.
  • Unhealthy Dependency On Food - I run to food when I get stressed. To be honest, I run to food for all of my emotions. I realize that I need to not feed my face in sadness or in celebration. I need to control my consumption of calories instead of letting the consumption consume me.

Final Thoughs

There are some things in my life that I need to let go of - things that I have been holding on to for a long time.

The challenge?

  • Some of the things I need to let go of are struggles from 20 years ago, that I have tried to normalize or justify as I have compared myself to other people.
  • Some of the things I need to let go of are the shameful​ parts of my life that I don't want people to know about.
  • Some of the things I need to let go of involve forgiving other people and not seeking repayment for where I was wronged.

There are some things I will hold on to with all the strength that I can muster. But other things, things that may have been important to me in the past, I choose to let go.

This is a part of my spiritual journey as I seek to truly follow a Dude that claimed to be divine. My prayer is that I let go of the things that do not honor my Savior so that my hands are free to hold on to the things that are important to Him.

  1. Can you relate to the tubing analogy​?
  2. Is there something that you have been holding on to that you need to let go of?
  3. What do you need to keep holding on to, even with times are tough?

I want to hear from you! Let's continue the conversation in the comment section.

@SumatraNate


Image Source: This image was taken on my wife's iPhone. It is used with her permission​.


More About My Steem Projects

image source: bitmoji app Like This Post?
Upvote, Comment, Resteem
Want More Like It?
Follow My Steem Blog!
Learn how to format your Steem posts so that your great content looks great!
image source: pixabay Wanna Join The Best Birthday Party On The Steem Blockchain? Click here for more details!
Sort:  

Not to criticize... but your final "thoughs" did not hit me as much as the things you need to let go of. Very nice post!

@papa-pepper, I appreciate your comment. I made a few revisions in the final thoughts that I hope "hit me" and others. Thanks for stopping by!

I loved Tubing even though I did smash up my knee once doing it I still did it again

The things you need to let go off are great advise and some I also need to let go of, some I am happy to say I did manage to give up for the most part, namely Pride I have pretty much under control and my dreams these days are more realistic and achievable perhaps more personal goals than dreams

Thanks for sharing. It amazes me how we subject ourselves to pain all in the name of fun and adventure.

Pride is hard to let go of. And something that I have realized is someone is constantly puts himself down is often seeking as much attention as someone who always talks himself.

I like how you described what you are work towards as "personal goals" instead of dreams.

Yes prid eis one of the hardest, I think age has helped me get that under control :)

Yes, I can relate, there are a few things I need to let go of, dependencies for one, I am working at it but everything takes time and sometimes I am hard on myself for not yet having it all together.

Hope, always hold on to hope, especially in the tough times.

I find that when I want to get everything perfect before taking action that I never make progress. Continue to take small, measurable steps. And hang on to hope.

Keep pressing forward and keep Steeming!

@sumatranate That is so so true, perfection is a great way to procrastinate and get nothing done, It's all about the small wins for the day week month or year, they all add up to life and that is what we want to be living!

Fantastic post!
First of all, what a fun activity!! I would LOVE to try that!
Second of all, the life-lesson of letting go is one we all can learn from. This is very difficult, but when you let things go, you can be a happier, more content person, and better able to help and relate to others in your life.
Thanks for sharing this!

I am glad you liked the post, and I am always glad to share what I have been learning.

Tubing is a blast. Everyone should try it at least once, but be prepared for sore arms. When I need to let something go, I try to think about the new things that will be placed in my life that I need for that moment.

Thanks for stopping by and adding to the conversation.

What an awesome post @sumatranate, more than half the battle is already won by your realisation of the things you need to let go of and what you need to hold onto!
My answer to the last 3 questions are: number 1 yes, number 2 yes and of course number 3 the most important and that is to hold on tightly to my Heavenly Father! Thank you for the reminder.

@lizelle, thanks for the comment! I believe that there is a constant spiritual battle over our minds and heart. We align ourselves with the Truth. Glad to know that Abba is what you are holding on to.

what a great twist! really clever analogy.
Oh there are so many things to let go off. I think I did well in many places, but for sure there is still so much I cling on to that only makes live heavy and troublesome..

Thanks for leaving a comment. We all have more things that we need to let go of. Glad to hear that you are moving in the right direction. Thanks for stopping by.

Beautiful words!
I need to let go of the things i can not control. I have realise that comparing myself to others will never ever make me happy, it will be a complete waste of time.

A prayer and family always keeps me motivated.
Thank you for such nice words today.

Thank you for the kind words. Giving up control is challenging but often rewarding. I hope you are able to let go of what you need to let go of so that you can hold on what you need to hold on to.

I can see this getting uncomfortable at high speeds. Water is liquid but if you ever jumped off a high board wrongly your in for a world of hurt. You did well to let go.

I had a blast. I just wish that I was in better shape because today my shoulders and arms are still sore. You are right about hitting the water. It can hurt.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Analogi yang menarik @sumatranate, and I understand it. There's a different situation on hold on or let go in life, you know.. we will hold on to win a competition and let go to have more fun😊 because life is not about competition all the time, flexibility is a must.

Liburan yang sangat menyenangkan sepertinya... naik sampan saja saya takut, bagaimana kalau tubing?

Thanks for your comment @cicisaja. Memang liburan yang menyenangkan hatinya. I agree that there are some things that we should never let go of.

Sampai ketemu lagi,
@SumatraNate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92