"I Think I Can, I Think I Can"

in #lifelesson7 years ago

I think I can.jpg

I'm sure that most of us have heard the story "The Little Engine That Could." It's a life lesson about a train that didn't think it could get up a steep hill, but with using reinforcing mantra like "I Think I Can, I Think I Can" the train made it up the steep hill. I think this life lesson is very true and I often use it in real life. You can apply it to so many situations.
cigarette-1642232__340.jpg

Take for example over 4 years ago I decided a month before my 50th birthday I was going to quit smoking. I started with just limiting myself to 10 cigarettes a day. (I had been a pack a day smoker.) Gradually I was down to 10 cigarettes or less a day. Then I finally quit!! Even being around smokers, I haven' t smoked since. I used the life lesson of "I Think I Can, I Think I Can."

diet-1135819__340.jpg

Now, I'm facing a new challenge. A week ago I wasn't feeling so good and my husband recommended I check my blood sugar. It had been some time since I had checked my blood sugar, so I got the meter and strips out to check my blood sugar. It was well over 200!! I read on the container that this container of strips had expired!! When I was faced with the possibility that my blood sugar could be that high, I had to make the decision that I needed to lose weight (I knew before this I really should lose weight.) I got new strips and my blood sugar wasn't in the 200's but it was still a little high. So, I began using my Vitamaster exerciser. Then I decided that even though my blood sugar was getting close to normal I wasn't going to stop there. I was bound and determined with the "I Think I Can, I Think I Can" attitude that I'm going to go on a diet and lose some weight.

I've been on diets before and usually the first week one only loses about 2-3 pounds. But so, far (in a weeks time) I've lost 10 pounds!! Yes, I'm very proud of myself and will continue to lose weight because I Know I Can, I Know I Can!!

Do you have a mantra (saying) to help you accomplish challenges?

Sort:  

WOW! Good job, momma Jodee! That was inspiring. I need to lose some fats too :D

I can't imagine you needing to lose any fat!! ;) You just have to have willpower and you can achieve anything!!

I know you can do it! You are able to stop smoking, you can make your blood sugar levels go down.

Been trying to stop smoking but no luck :(

Congratulations @stoutjodee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74