Lunartics!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The term "lunatic" derives from the Latin word lunaticus, which originally referred mainly to epilepsy and madness, as diseases thought to be caused by the moon.
Wikipedia

I vaguely remember hearing about the possibility of buying land on the Moon, but I honestly thought is was some kind of hoax and never payed any attention to it. It seems that I over-estimated the sanity of mankind once again, as I now learn that it is real. Yes, the Lunartics, as I like to call them, really exist...


image

My fellow crypto-brothers and sisters here on Steemit and elsewhere on the digital planet often ask: "When Moon?" Well, if it's up to LunarLand.com, the answer is: "Now Moon! For only $29.95 !" And for a mere ten dollars more you get your name printed on the Lunar Deed. Things like this make me laugh out loud in pure sadness...

And if you don't immediately leave the website just because of the ridiculousness of it all and click through it, you quickly learn that they are "Earths Oldest, Most Recognized Celestial Real Estate Agency", and that they also sell acres of land on Mars, Venus, Mercury and Jupiter's Moon IO.

I must admit, I'm somewhat fascinated by this. They advertise claiming they already sold 300 million acres of the Moon's surface and that they've been doing this for almost four decades now! Have a look at some of the celebrities that apparently own one or more acres of extraterrestrial land:


image
source: LunarLand.com "Over 250 Celebrities and over 5 million people just like you are proud owners of Lunar Land!"

I don't know if you can read the text in the section beneath the lunar celebs, but it also says: "For the average person, an acre on Mars is an excellent gift and great conversation piece." Yeah, I can Imagine some of those conversations...

You're at this big party where the love of your life is present also. What better way to impress, and maybe even propose to her, than giving her a little piece of the heavens? So after gathering courage you fall on your knee and hold up the Lunar Deed with the ring on top of that. You speak words that would enchant cold rocks... you leave no stone unturned, not even a Moon-rock, to win the love of your hearts obsession.

This would, in any normal insane world win over the person you proposed to. But in our insane insane world the reply could be a cold: "That's so sweet dear, but I'm afraid Brad proposed to me yesterday, and he bought a piece of Venus for himself and a piece of Mars for me... Isn't he just the most romantic man in the solar system..?"

Yep, you should have gone for the "Deluxe" package. Totally insane this. The text continues: "But many corporations such as Marriott have purchased thousands of extraterrestrial acres for investment purposes, exploration and future development. Join the official Lunar Land Registry buy ordering your land on the planet Mars today."

Really?

Well, I kept looking, because I never heard about this company being sued, so they must have their asses covered somewhere. And at the bottom of the FAQ, the last question answered is this: "Is it real?" And the answer is: "This is a novel gift and for entertainment purposes only." For entertainment purposes only! Also I couldn't find any references via Google on the International Association Of Human Planetary Exploration (IAOHPE), other than on their own website...



So why do people buy a piece of land they'll never see nor visit in their lifetime? I saw a video of one of the "owners" of a piece of Mars, where he showed his purchase of the Deluxe package. I'll share it here, but please, try not to hate on him, I think his video shows some of the reasons why people would want to "own" the official looking certificates and he gives an account of the flimsy legal basis of all of this:



This guy says towards the end: "I can barely pay my rent on Earth, but I own land on another planet." See how that works?

Ah well, that's not the kind of Moon we're waiting for anyway :-) We will go to the Moon if we just keep on Steeming and keep the faith in our favorite crypto-currencies! If any of you know something more about this weird company or maybe even bought or received as a gift some celestial real estate, please let us know!


lance-12 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
A Proud Helpienaut!
I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

Sort:  

First of all, it sounds like you need to beat up Brad for moving in on your woman and proposing! That's not cool, Brad!
In all seriousness though, it breaks my heart to see what people will spend their hard earned dollars on. My friends mom came home one day with a certificate saying that she had bought a star and named it after her daughter that had passed away. But, how many other people had purchased and named that same star too? sigh Maybe one day the world won't have so many scammy people in it!
Ivy

Don't be mad at Brad, Ivy. Feel sorry for him; he's stuck with her now ;-) This company, LunarLand.com also sells that "service"; you can buy a certificate with a star you named... Sad indeed...

I guess if you go into it knowing that it is a novelty item and that it isn't real then that's one thing but some people legitimately think that they are buying these things! And yea I guess I do feel sorry for Brad then :)
Ivy

Ok, you had me laughing right about here:

You speak words that would enchant cold rocks...

Where is a good superlative when you need one?

So, looking at the deal and reading through, I kept thinking, "legal recourse, legal recourse...it must be in there somewhere..."

I was still going until I read, "for entertainment purposes only". Whew. I wonder how many buyers actually read that part. If they're looking for the ground floor opportunity of a lifetime, there's no floor in this deal. They'd get a better deal buying DOGE (disclosure: I have some DOGE).

That was a cool and light read. Thanks.

This is quite funny and surprising too. They are indeed lunatics. Who buys land on the moon for christ sakes.

Too funny. I mean, I am a lunatic, and influenced by the moon, bug I'm not that crazy is seems in comparison haha

Your kind of lunacy is the wanted kind of lunacy: don't ever lose that! :-)

Thanks. This was a fun read this morning.

"Ownership" is a funny thing. Technically we are really borrowing everything including the air we are breathing, or the lungs breathing it, but that is a different convo. Ownership is really a concept to protect someone's labor.

Houston, we have a problem. The fact that we have an understanding of ownership in which purchasing land on another planet is sensible should be addressed.

Thanks for this response, @art-mess, I absolutely 100% and fully agree totally with every little bit of it :-)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Oh! I can't believe I missed this!
I love your sense of humour!
This gave me a chuckle, but it's also very poignant because it seems humans place focus on ridiculous things instead of wanting to save this beautiful planet from corporate madness or feed their fellow humans...
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51