Full Throttle: Classic LucasArts Games

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Some of the best video game memories have been given to me, and countless others according to their commercial success, by LucasArts. This company has released several adventure games that will always have a special place in my heart.


Full_Throttle_Flickr.jpg
Full Throttle Remastered - picture by BagoGames - source: flickr.com

In the 1990's LucasArts surprised the gaming community with some of the best and most original adventure games ever. While in the 1980's it was mainly Sierra Entertainment that ruled the then very popular adventure games market with titles like King's Quest, Police Quest and Space Quest, LucasArts took over in the next decade.

I'll never forget The Secret of Monkey Island, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, Maniac Mansion: Day of the Tentacle, Sam & Max: Hit the Road, The Dig and the game of focus today, Full Throttle.

Man, did this game's opening blew me away when I first started it up back in 1995! The game's protagonist, Ben, redefined the meaning of the word "cool" for me back then... Like all the other LucasArts games of that era it had something special; those games had a soul and a heart with not only interesting and surprising story-lines, but characters you really could identify with, no matter how outlandish some of their adventures were.

In Full Throttle you are Ben the mega-cool leader of a biker-gang, who gets betrayed after accepting a deal with the owner of "Corley Motors". From the very first time Ben was introduced, I was hooked and wanted to know why the name "Maureen" reminded him of asphalt and trouble. Watch the original intro yourself:


LucasArts - Full Throttle (Intro)

The visuals, the dramatic camera-angles, the music, everything sucks you in. And the game doesn't let you go either. The story develops in surprising ways and the characters are well developed with some great voice-acting bringing them to life. Even Mark Hamill has a role in there as the evil Adrian Ripburger! Hamill is always very good with voices of evil. But the best voice in this game, and maybe all games I've ever played, is Ben's voice, acted by Roy Conrad...

I won't spoil the story, but will say that Ben loses his gang and that he'll be betrayed several times before all ends well. Players progress in the classic adventure game manner mostly, by solving puzzles and finding the items needed to solve them. A lot of dialogue and puzzle-solving is sometimes broken by rather clumsy action sequences on your chopper bike.

The game is so fondly remembered and was such a success in it's time that a remastered version has been published on multiple platforms; if you like to relive some great memories, or if you want to try a game with great storytelling and great characters, I would recommend Full Throttle without hesitation. Here's the remastered trailer:


Full Throttle Remastered - PSX 2016: First Look Trailer | PS4

I hope you liked this flashback. I'll do some more of the classics I played back in the days, even if only because it makes me feel good to talk about these gems ;-) Thanks so much for stopping by, fellow Steemians! Cheers!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Bread And World Cup 2018
Bewildering Botanic BeautyTo Tip, Or Not To Tip...
GDP: The Failing Of Our Global Pissing ContestBear Market Blues? Create More!! Post More!!
The Language Of The Universe: Discovered Or Invented?Blind Men And The Elephant In The Room

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

Sort:  

The Lucasarts games will always hold a special place in my heart. In my early childhood, I rocked the shit outta these games. Good times...

It is my friend :-) Thanks for visiting and leaving a response @negativespace!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks so much @c-squared! Always an honor to be manually approved by your staff! :-)

LucasArts studios were making some mighty good games back in the day!
I've actually been doing some "historical" gaming posts lately, covering noteworthy games released in certain years (just made one bout 1998) and my favorite game from them is "Grim Fandango"

That's great @emtecks! :-) I'll be sure to check out those articles. Thanks for stopping by and reminding me of Grim Fandango: how could I forget that one!? One of my editors in chief when I freelanced as a games-reviewer was called Ben de Dood (dutch name, translates to: Ben the Dead) signed his review of that game with "Ben del Muerto"... How did that slip my mind...

Thanks so much for leaving this response, @emtecks :-)

Hah, that's a kickass name!

Wow I am showing my age but meh. This games was amazing and sucked countless hours away from me. Here it comes, the statement that solidified my old age

They don’t make em like that anymore

Nah, you're showing something else, @aclarkuk82... You're showing that you have good taste ;-) And you know why? Because they don’t make em like that anymore!! :-)

Thanks so much for your great response! :-)

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43