Being a teacher in Venezuela

in #life6 years ago

It's no secret for anybody the situation Venezuelan people are living right now. As shown in social networks and news channels, the damaged done here by polititians and people supporting this govenment. Lack of food, medicines, transportation an cash is turning unbearable. For me, as a teacher who lives far from my work place, every day has become a battleground for takin a bus o arrive to school. In the morning, I have to walk four blocks, sometimes five or six to have the chance to take one in order to arrive early and not miss the lessons with the kids I teach.

Here in Venezuela people need cash in order to pay the public transportation, and, as mentioned before, the situation in banks is hard to deal with; because, banks only give 20.000 Bs. (bolivares=currency) daily when the fare is 2.000, not to mention the never-ending lines we have to make in order to receive the money. So if someone has to pay four buses or more to get to the workplace or run some errands, by the end of he day the money he/she gets from the banks in not enough for the next day's routine.

![Imagen0015.jpg]()

In my particular situation, I have to walk from work to downtown in order to get some money to save one 2.000 Bs, and, sometimes, I have to return home by foot; situation that is leaving me more tired than I was used to.

Material for working, as markers, erasers, pens, pencils, paper and such are imposible to afford nowadays. For example, markers went from 2.000 Bs to 140.000 Bs in less than a year; so, as someone who teaches English it is getting imposible for me to buy something as simple as marker or pen in order to do my jod.

Going to school with clean clothes is another hard-toswallow pill, because as the government raises the salaries, basic products as detergent, soap, deodorants and shampoo also raise. Some collegues and myself are using their credit cards to buy those products, making us poorer everyday a leaving us with more expenses than profits.

The classrooms are so damaged that make school look like a jail. Last week I had to place the white-board on two chairs to start and finish the lesson. Thanks God, the students, the ones who come, are open to face this situation and learn to be somebody in the future. And they are the reason why we continue to do our job despite the situation

As you can see, the situation in my country, a country rich in oil and minerals, is hard to carry. But, as long as I'm here, I will keep on trying to do the best as a teacher and fulfill the job I chose for my life. The only thing I ask the heavens is that someday this situation changes and some new government really do what they are supposed to do and Venezuela can change and improve for the well-being of children and people who do not want to leave the country that saw them grow and where they hope to, one day, end this journey we call life.

I hope this post is enjoyable for all of you. Please comment and leave your opinions. I will appreciate them!
The images I used belong to me. They were taken with my Nokia 2730... Who´s been my loyal friend since 2008.

Sort:  

It's true as a Venezuelan I also experience everything you mention in your post, and it hit me very hard, after being a person, in good health and very robust, I am now too thin. Everyone who knows me is surprised to see me at first hit me a lot, but I'm used to total I'm not the only one. I have also had to walk with my knee problem but what can one do, wait for a bus stress because they are scarce. I loved your post, my friend Alfredo, I know that you have also stuck all this very strong, but mood of the storm always comes the calm

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

How so? Can you give a briefing cuz the post doesn't appear when i try to open it... :(

How so? Can you give a briefing cuz the post doesn't appear when i try to open it... :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50