Monsters are real, but so are the HEROS

in #life6 years ago (edited)
Last Sunday I was sitting in front of the tv and watching the news when commercials kicked in with the announcement of the movie that was going to be on a bit later. It was some new horror movie, rated as not suitable for those under 18. Vampires, werewolves, zombies, nasty little trolls, witches, etc. I don't usually go for that type of entertainment, it doesn't have that happy vibe that I'm looking for in my daily life experiences, but it did get me thinking about something...

()

Something started bugging me and scratching that little part of my brain that is usually asleep, where have I seen this already? Then it hit me like a pile of bricks! All those muggers, killers, drug dealers and pimps are the bloodsuckers, just without the romantic background story and without the sexy pale tan. They have no special powers, sharp teeth and I am pretty sure they don't turn into werewolves but they seem just as dangerous as the ones in books and movies. All those humans that use other humans and exploit them are not smelly trolls that hide under bridges, some of them are even well-dressed with an expensive smile on their face. I wonder...

Did we desensitized ourselves from our daily monsters by romanticising the ones in horror stories?

I know the background for these types of stories. They were exaggerations in storytelling and have served as means of control for individuals, either for protecting secrets and valuables or for scaring children and grownups from doing something. That's what monsters from those stories were, metaphors that had an educational purpose. Somewhere along the way, it all got twisted and people started using them as means of pushing on their agenda. History tells the story of burning of the witches, stoning the albinos and much more. Well, I am sad to say some of those things are still present today. Where did it all go wrong?

fantasy-2530043_960_720.jpg

All those metaphors that should represent human nature in monster form suddenly became acceptable in good-looking and expensive suites. All of your good nature could not help you if you are not easy on the eye. When did we get scared of what we see oppose of what we don't see? We stopped acting on our knowledge and common sense. We don't question motives or actions if what we see is pleasing to our eyes and we process information only skin deep.

I thought I was going crazy and that this was my crazy voice talking so I went online and did a little exploration of ever so popular youtube. Thanks to modern technology my suspicions were confirmed. All the videos featuring asses and tits had a couple of million hits while science, wellbeing, new discoveries, and human achievements had only a couple of thousands. The next conclusion came as no surprise.

We, as a human race, are satisfied with our monsters as long as they look good.

This was the point where my happy bubble was stretched to its limits so I needed some counterpunch to all this negative vibe and bad thoughts. I could have meditated or gone for a walk with some uplifting music in my ears focusing on forgetting all of this, but then nothing would change. I would just be reminded of all this the next time I see something similar on tv so I did what I do best. Keyboard, my old friend, we meet again...

()

Steemit has become my new happy place where monsters are banished and good people are kind and well-spoken. This is where I can process information on information alone, where good is written and writing is good. Steemit is the place where all these thoughts that I had have met their match and are beaten by the positive energy and vibrations coming from all steemit users. Thank you for that.

Whatever you do, make sure you enjoy it. Surround yourself with positivity and happiness. There will always be negativity but where your attention goes, energy flows. Keep your smile on lovely people and each day choose to be a hero, not a monster.

All of the used images are under CC0 License and are free for personal and commercial use. You can find them on pexels.com

For more on the philosophy of happiness, follow the links to my previous posts:
Why do we and how do we learn ANYTHING?
How to train your brain to be positive
Do you KNOW how to love and be loved?
What is the philosophy of HAPPINESS?

Sort:  

Appreciated your reflections on something we all must face. Stay positive hero.

Your appreciation is appreciated 💚

Thank you for constantly spreading positivity and happiness :)

Well, thank you for the encouragement, support and inspiration ;)

What a lovely analysis. It is a fresh point of view for me even tho I admit it should have come naturally because it is very logical.

Oh, some things are very logical but somehow slip our minds, it happens to me all the time :)


Greetings @zen-art

You've been invited to the iTalnet contest/initiative

If you wish to enroll the contest, the auditions started today 1'st of March and will last until 5'th of March read more in the link below, the contest has a new voting system where artists/performers vote between themselves (no judges / no upvote count / no nominatios) only contestants vote counts.
https://steemit.com/art/@ivan.atman/italent-contest-auditions-have-started-or-45-steem-rewards-or-all-talents-or-auditory-arts-visual-arts-performing-arts

Please read the rules of the contest prior to enrollment, thank you
@ivan.atman

My first thought was: "we are the biggest monsters". Yes exactly! All these hard thoughts ae piece of us. It is funny how some cultures see death as something beautiful. On the other side in western culture at the end of everything, panic, sadness. We are those who make life harder. Just because of the interpretations. Well yes, Steemit will help you to get rid of some monsters. But don't forget behind Steemit usernames are people again ;)

Behind steemit are people, yes. But these platform seems so much more peaceful than the other ones. Thank you for your lovely comment 💚

Well yes they are. For now

I'm actually on the other side of the fence - to be fair, I am a big fan of horror and dark themes, but I think that it's important to play with the dark side as humans.

Darkness and monsters exist in real life. Maybe not supernatural things like vampires and werewolves, etc. But terrible people and terrible situations, for sure.

Media and art that explore these themes are usually trying to expose viewers to those things, with the intent to not only scare (because for many of us, that's a fun feeling to feel), but to actually examine ourselves and the darkness within each of us. What would we do in those situations? Would we become the "hero"? Would we become the "coward"? Would we join the evil? Why?

Ignoring our darker self, burying it, or pretending it doesn't exist just lets it fester, and makes it more likely for one to be caught off guard in the real world because the signs are harder to recognize.

Life is balance of light and dark - dark is just as healthy!

that's my opinion, anyway :)

Yes, I agree that there needs to be a balance but as you said monsters exist in real life. I was just wondering are we letting some things slide just because the monster has a pretty face or an expensive suit? It is easier to react to monsters when they do look like ones, I am scared sometimes that people allow all sorts of things when they really shouldn't and ignore the heroes.
Thank you for joining in the conversation, you made a good point.

Fascinating story.Your writing really makes me read until the end without even releasing it.Maybe I should take notes from you about posting and blogging.Great work!

Thank you, I am happy to hear my word flow is good and readable :)

I got to your article reading a review by gnasher on discord :D
I think that if more of us would be prosocial, there would be more heroes to start with. Others, like myself, would be afraid to really say what they think. I would have never stepped outside my comfort zone a few years ago.
Great writing style and happy to read you and upvote you, again!

Thanks for stopping by @alexdory, its so nice of you come by. I am happy to hear that you are stepping out of your comfort zone, good job!

Whatever you do, make sure you enjoy it.
To je to, nema dalje. I smisao i poanta.
We choose, every day - hero or a monster- and we attract with our energy heroes or monsters in our lifes as people that surround us are our mirrors. 💙

People that surround us are our mirrors... Yes, this is so true. We attract with our energy and our vibration. Sometimes I wonder if people realize that, I do hope so. 💚

Unfortunately, I think most of them don't and they keep going in circles like poor hamster in that wheel, in the wheel of autodestruction. However, by developing his or hers level of awareness, person can really grow. And I think that is the point when they realize that. But you already know it. :)

Your excellent observations in this article almost immediately brought this scripture to mind:

"And no wonder, for even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light." - Ref.

There are more than enough pretty monsters to go around. All too many of them are government agents pretending to help...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you for your lovely contribution to this discussion, stay safe from those agents ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67803.71
ETH 3800.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66