Update: I'm Back!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Vauxhall bridge London thumbnail.png

Hey guys, so first things first: I’m back! These last few months I’ve been busy with school, but I really want to make Steemit more of a priority moving forward (along with my personal projects). Here’s a quick update on what I’ve been doing and working on. 😊

Moving back to London

Summer was nice in that I was able to take it easy and spend time with my family at home in America. Some of you might remember I hurt my wrist during exam season, and it was officially diagnosed as a bad sprain and torn tendon. I’ll admit it put quite a damper on what I could do, and made the prospect of returning to England on my own daunting.

But I made it back safe and sound, and moved into a new studio. Despite November’s plight of persistent bronchitis, I’m excited about the opportunities here (more on those in later posts) and have enjoyed my classes. Speaking of…

I learned how to write plays!

My degree has me taking one English module each semester, and this term it’s Creative Writing: Drama. Don’t tell my English teacher, but my first choice was actually Prose Fiction. But I decided to give it my all and it’s actually a lot of fun.

Each week our assignment was to write a two-page scene based on a prompt. So now I have nine scripts and can start writing a ten-page play for my final project. My earlier ones need some editing before posting here, but I’ll definitely start putting them up in the near future.

Resuming my projects

Between settling into my new flat and being sick, I haven’t had much energy or time for my passions, like writing and art. That means my art website, zeldacroft.com, my novel, and Steemit had to take a backseat. But like I said earlier, it’s vital that I make time for these things since they’re so important to me.

My novel in particular has been calling. I intend on elaborating a little more on it later, but it’s a post-apocalyptic story I’ve wanted to tell for years. Especially since I keep getting bursts of inspiration lately, it’s about time I put in the work it deserves.

For my website, where I write blogs about my art and share resources for artists, I actually have some content I just need to backdate. I’ll be linking those in Steemit posts when I do, but I’ll try to give you something extra, like more pictures or info.

I was featured in a we-write prompt!

If you’ve read my earlier posts, you know I’ve participated in a few of the freewrites and we-writes hosted by the wonderful @mariannewest. Through my mom, @ntowl (who you should check out, too), she chose to use a freewrite I’d done as a we-write prompt!

The way it works is that you read the prompt, which is the beginning of someone else’s story, and then finish it. It’s a really fun exercise that I used to enjoy doing in school, and now we can all take part with these weekly we-writes.

I’m thinking of writing a post with my full writing (the prompt didn't include the last paragraph) and explaining my thoughts behind it, but it was so cool to see fellow writers be inspired by my work. Even more special was how each person interpreted it in their own way. To see what I mean, I highly encourage you to look at the post with my prompt, and click the comments where people linked their endings.

Thanks for letting me be a part of the we-writes, Marianne!

Anyways, in short I’m happy to back on steemit and have a lot of fun stuff to share with you. I realized I still haven’t even done an actual introduction post, but I’ll get to it eventually. 😅


(The picture is mine)

Sort:  

Congratulations @zeldacroft! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yay! So glad to have you back here, and then home in a few days! love you!

Yay! So glad to have
You back here, and then home in
A few days! love you!

                 - ntowl


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Wonderful! And scriptwriting will serve you well with your prose. It can help you develop useful dialogue.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @zeldacroft! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ho Ho Ho! @zeldacroft, one of your Steem friend wished you a Merry Christmas and asked me to give you a new badge!

SteemitBoard wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To see who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66