You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What the Heck is a "Trigger Warning," and Why are College Students Demanding Them?

in #life7 years ago

@stephmckenzie I must be emotionally dead or have skin so thick nothing gets through. I too just recently learned about all this "trigger warning" stuff and actually had to ask another forum member what it was because it was a new phrase for me.

I don't understand it but if I have to try, perhaps it is my understanding that society is getting softer. I can sort of compare it to the early explorers, especially the Antarctic ones. Those guys, to me, seemed to be made of steel. The conditions and scenarios they endured blow my mind and I consider myself to be made of the tough stuff.

Perhaps it is just some sort of evolutionary thing that happens with the passing of time and we are just noticing it as it floats past us on the river of life. I dunno. All I do know is it is something that hasn't ever and doesn't apply to me so I'm going to move along and leave this curious comment here for others to ponder.

Sort:  

I was stunned when I first heard of this thing, and now I'm seeing people preface posts here and elsewhere on the internet with "Attention: Possible Trigger Warning for the Following Issues," and then list them. This wasn't a thing when I was in college, and it wasn't THAT long ago. I don't know what changed.

Weird. I don't think I'll be playing that game. But then again, I don't think I'm the kind of person who'll be generating any kind of triggering content...that is, unless you are triggered by interesting life stories and experiences. Perhaps I'll write about Trigger fish...what happens then?

Haha! That's a good one. You SHOULD write about them. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43