3 ways I developed my intuition... and how you can too..

in #life6 years ago (edited)

“When I let go of who I am, I become what I might be.” ~ Lao Tzu

It was during my late teens and early twenties that I began practicing and experimenting with many techniques to enhance intuition and my ability to find more “flow” in my life. I was continuously blown away by the synchronicities during these early years and it wasn’t till later on when I began traveling to other cities and countries that I felt like I began to lose this ability.

intuition2.jpg

For many years this puzzled me because it didn’t seem to make sense. To me at the time, I thought I had more understanding and knowledge on how things worked and operated in the universe, yet I was becoming more lost in my own personal life.

Many years passed as I started to find holes and contradictions in many of the new age style teachings that I had become so familiar with. So I began focusing only a select few teachings and authors whom I found to be clear and penetrating. I also brought the practical aspects of yoga and Buddhist style meditation more seriously into my daily life.

And so the stripping away of information began...

After stripping away a lot of the information I had learned, I found a lot more space inside and new insights and understandings began to come more readily.

The more I continue to strip away things, the clearer things seem to get.

I still tend to read a lot and am interested in new knowledge, yet I have come to see that it doesn’t hold much power and is more superficial and more for entertainment than anything else. What holds much more power than knowledge is the simple, daily practices of moment-to-moment awareness, meditation, contemplation and observation.

What I realized is that intuition doesn’t involve having psychic powers or having to visualize white lights coming out of our heads. These common “new age” style techniques are not at all necessary to develop our intuition. In some cases, these techniques further impair our capacity to be intuitive simply because it can add more clutter into our minds.

Developing our intuition is not about adding more or wanting more, it’s about throwing things out and wanting less – when we have cultivated a healthy space within, we can hear, see and feel our intuition more clearly.

1. Clear Out The Clutter


The primary reason for the lack of connection with intuition is to do with having too much clutter in our minds and in our lifestyles. We hold onto too many ideas, opinions, judgments and all sorts of fancy and useless knowledge and information. Our lives are also often cluttered up with large amounts of non-essential items and decorations. This clutter simply fogs up the lens of perception, it sticks buds in our ears so we can’t hear, it fills our lives with so much junk, that we use our energy on simply trying to organize and manage it.

We must learn to continuously and ruthlessly throw out the non-essentials – both in mind and in our physical world. Throwing out this clutter helps us to cultivate the space within and allows us to be more receptive and open to our intuition.

2. Connect With Our Body

Our nervous systems are electrical systems that are plugged directly into the electrical system of the universe (the field). Our nervous systems can receive messages from the field itself and are experienced as subtle sensations throughout the body. Therefore, if we can learn to connect with and sense the subtle sensations running throughout our bodies, we can read and sense our intuition more clearly.

One of the easiest ways to gain clearer access to these subtler sensations is to learn to connect with our body. Sense your heart beating, your legs, and your breath. Notice how it manages itself without any conscious input or effort? There is an intelligence governing all of life and no human mind is required to keep it going.

relaxing-body-before-sleep.jpg

Conducting regular body scans is the best method to connect with our body. We can body scan almost anywhere, anytime. We can do it when we are sitting on the bus, sitting at our desk at work while taking a break from the computer and we can do it while we are lying on our bed at night. Simply, begin at the feet and slowly work our attention up through the body making sure that we “touch” each of the main body parts with our awareness. This is the best way to establish a conscious connection with our body.

3. Drop Any Sense Of Urgency


After practicing the process of connecting and listening to our body for some time, it will be a lot easier to recognize if we are in a state of urgency.

Urgency is when there is the constant feeling or thought that “I must get this” or “I must get that” or “I need to get home” or “I need to get this done,” or I “need to understand” or “I really want to finish this” etc. Usually, any self talk that has want, need or must involved is likely to generate a sense of urgency in our body and mind. This sense of urgency keeps us from being able to stop and “smell the flowers”, so to speak. Being able to stop and smell the flowers means to be able to see and sense the whole picture rather than being locked down into a limited tunnel vision. When we can sense the whole picture, we are open and receptive to whatever signals or messages may present itself in each moment. In every moment, I believe some kind of message or signal is being presented for greater insight and understanding. Most of us just can’t sense it because we have our tunnel vision switched on due to our state of urgency.

Sure, sometimes the sense of urgency may be required to complete a task or reach a deadline, but most of the time we really don’t require this sense of urgency. We get so used to be in “urgent mode” that we come to feel like being in urgent mode is the normal way to be in this world. This is because most humans in this world regularly reflect this state of urgency back to us. Unfortunately, most humans are frivolously running about in this world in a state of anxiety and urgency.

We don’t have to do the same… try dropping it as soon as you see it in yourself and notice how much more relaxing, pleasant and joyful the simplest things become.

walk.jpg

Practice “dropping urgency” at least once a day. The more we practice it, the easier it becomes. Eventually, being out of urgency will become the norm and other people will soon come to notice how much more relaxed, peaceful and pleasant we are to be around.

-------------

If you have any questions or comments, please post them below! :)

If you enjoyed this post, I would greatly appreciate your UPVOTE, and would love for you to follow me here on Steemit @yinyangmichael

If you want to learn more, visit my website -> http://www.michaelhetherington.com.au

I appreciate all your support.

bio3.jpg
Michael Hetherington
BHlthSci, Chinese medicine & yoga
Author & Teacher


purple seperators (19).jpg

I am also a proud member of @tribesteemup, a community of people working together to help make the world a more peaceful, positive, free place.

Among us are visionaries, healers, free-thinkers, teachers, and high-vibe people who are creating great content to help make the world more positive and better for us all. Please stop by the page to check out the group and support the work being created.

purple seperators (19).jpg
@ecotrain #ecotrain
etrain.png
Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

#energy #travel #community #meditation #acupuncture #yoga #lifeforce #wellbeing #life #health

purple seperators (19).jpg

Free crypto available via Mannabase - the world’s first Universal Basic Income cryptocurrency

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This was so interesting to read! It's amazing how much we can control our minds if we just try to exercise it.

Great tips. I think that you can connect with your body through meditation.

This is a very good article. I couldn't finish it yet. So I'll go on reading it tomorrow. I can't miss a word of it. I thank you for this interesting gift.

Hi, As I said before, I've just completed reading your article. Very interesting, I think I might be used to be in an "Urgent mode" but You have also just made me realize that I can change that and be more relaxed. Thanks for your advise

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52