Veterans Day: belated.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

I stumbled upon this video last night quite by accident, and being as I'm no longer keeping up with the news at all, I had no idea that it was Veteran's Day in America. I was planning on sharing it on wastebook anyways, and decided that I should go ahead and address it here as well.

Caution: This is a very hard watch. The moral of the story is that our government doesn't give a damn who gets hurt as long as the political machine keeps rolling.

As a mentally handicapped person myself, I couldn't help but take this personally. Between my learning disability, my PTSD and my dissociative disorder, I can identify all too well with the things these poor bastards went through. Being mocked and bullied by your peers, trapped by the decisions of others in a place where they simply did not belong, terrified and shamed because they wanted so badly to do things "right", and didn't understand what they were doing wrong.

This was my childhood, being pulled out of a school where I had friends and understanding teachers; and forced to attend a different school with 0.0% support for my disabilities, all in a vain attempt to suppress the reality of my daily life in service of my mother's vanity. And all because "How would that make her look?" She did everything possible to hide my disability from the world, and most especially me...

But I couldn't hide it from anyone.

So when I see this... guys who had it far worse than myself, thrown into a meatgrinder for the sake of political convenience... I can only weep for the disgrace brought upon this nation.

4d9d556169507fcdf0e3827307b4d8d4.jpg
pinterest.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @yestermorrow! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86