Rainy Night Thoughts...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

It is a choice, to be a victim.

Bad things happen to all, and many have victimhood forced upon them, often when children, or outnumbered, or outgunned. When lured with honeyed words and promises of friendship or victory. And then the trap is sprung, and you are indeed cornered, and victimized.

What you choose to do then, determines your fate. Not all choices are equal, and nothing is certain, but you still have to choose. Even 'not-choosing' is ofcourse a choice.. a choice to comply and let others decide your fate. And you will be shamed for letting them do it, by people who weren't there.

Many times in life, I found myself outnumbered, or manuvoered into traps. And sad to say, I usually just complied. I was raised to comply under all circumstances, no matter how horrid, and yes... shamed for doing so. I don't think the people in my life could have concieved how destructive such a thing is for a little person, because A Choice, repeated, becomes a Habit, becomes a Reflex.

So in time, I just reflexively complied, and kept silent, to avoid being shamed. It resulted in madness and torment, which still haunts me. It'll be here as long as I am.

But I am not a victim.


Source

I have been victimized, to be sure. Tricked, hoodwinked, mislead, intimidated... cajoled, encouraged, enlivened, rewarded... Anything to keep me on the plantation, working for the abusers. The endless non-physical means of violence in our culture is, well.. Endless.

But being a victim is still a choice.

Our culture does not allow for self-defense, in most cases. The bullies will have the full support of the power-structure, because it allows the power-structure to continue. Bullies are part and parcel of human society. And while I was a captive in the school system, they had rule. While I was a captive of the workplace, they had rule. While I was a captive of co-habitation, they had rule.

I am not a captive anymore.

I am no longer there, in those places. I am free, and in relatively good health. I am still fairly young, and hopeful for the future. I will admit to being scared as to what that future may hold, for the world is getting darker every day.

But nobody will ever Own me again.

#ripcord #exitstrategy #ghost

natmedicine.gif

Sort:  

Sometimes I thought a lot of things when I'm alone. 😞
#up-gage

Great write-up, as always :-) Thanks for sharing your victory in the fight for relative freedom, a source of light in a world that's getting darker, as you say... I guess our lights just have to burn brighter then 😊

Smoky mountain rain eh.. Stay empowered

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay, go you! The future is scary, of course, that's the nature of uncertainty for you!!

What's scarier is that you haven't centred that damn amazing footer .... He he! Looks AMAZING!!

Great post lovely - sorry I didn't get round to replying, life's been chaotic!

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

it's always our choice

Your post has been recommended by @leereyn26 for my up-gage challenge

You are welcome to join as well , engage and get rewarded with upvote+steem

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @yestermorrow! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44