You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pursuit of Happiness | Better than Happiness

in #life5 years ago

The way I see it is there is positive stuff; neutral/null; negative stuff. If you only work on the negative stuff, the best outcome possible is no suffering, a neutral state. What about all the positive not getting any attention? It's also a depressing environment for the alleviator, the caregiver, because he/she is continually immersed in misery. One has to be a saint to not be affected negatively by that.

Sort:  

I think a caregiver and person in general would only suffer if they neglected their own suffering for the sake of helping others.

If we focus on the prevention, reduction and long-term elimination of suffering (including our own), we are ensuring that the happiness we enjoy is not causing misery for ourselves or others.

P.S. I edited the post again to describe my current perspective. Thank you for discussing this with me @yawnguy I am learning a lot through writing, reflecting and discussing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86