You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Important Things NOT Taught In School

in #life8 years ago

I couldn't agree more. As a teacher (and former student, myself) I see the negative effects of these shortcomings all of the time. The "thinking" bit is especially important. The cynic inside of me suspects that the lack of focus on critical thinking on our education system has more to do with forming a society that is complacent... but what do I know.

But also, to this list, I might add "Learning" I know that sounds redundant, but when I taught college classes I noticed that a lot of students didn't really know how to organize their notes or how to commit information to memory. Maybe it's becoming less relevant today to know facts off the top of your head when you can "just google it" but the process of learning (nay, the joys of learning) through repetition, organizing themes, and remembering is a skill that permeates all aspects of life especially in a time when learning new things is the modus operandi. Change is imminent, and being open to and able to learn new stuff (and fundamentally knowing the importance of learning) at all ages should be a way of life. Moreover, I get the feeling that people associate learning with mandatory school and when they finish, say after high school or college they plateau, patting themselves on the back and closing that chapter of their lives off completely.

Sort:  

I agree with every word you said. It is true that our education system is creating hordes of robots and there is a cynic in me that thinks the same as you sometimes.
But I believe technology is empowering people to take matter into their own hands and has actually allowed students to learn what they want how they want it (videos, pictures, text)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65