Depression is underrated.

in #life6 years ago


The title of this post resumes everything I want to express, depression is underrated ¿Why? Because I see how society tends to undervalue this disorder, in my experience, even when I don't have this disease, It has been causing me and so many people a lot of nightmares and suffering. 


Starting from a very uncomfortable  fact for me, and that Is, that I couldn't get to know any of my grandfathers because the both of them commited suicide and nowadays, my grandma suffers depression and I see how day by day this Illness keeps doing damage to her, being sincere that is a very painful situation for everyone and due to this, i will teach people a little bit about this disorder. 


Some fact about depression.

  • More than 10% of world population suffer It or have the chance to suffer It at least one time in their lives. 
  • Almost half of the people that suffer It doesn't look for help.
  • Depression multiplies by five the possibilities of committing suicide.
  • There's no test or analysis for depression, the diagnostic relies on the mental health professionals.
  • It is considered one of the most expensive Illness for the health system. 


Understanding people who suffer. 


I will be sincere, I have felt sad in some times of my life, but I can't talk about depression from a personal experiencie point of view, nonetheless, I have seen how people isolate, keep getting distance until they reach a no return point, due to this and the motive that seeing the people you love In these situations hurts a lot, I will share some tips that have worked for me when I have helped some friends to battle depression. 



Tips:

  1. Go to a doctor or a mental health professional: People tend to underestimate the work of these professionals, this occurs because they feel that a psychologist or a psychiatrist won't help them at all, so you will need to remind people the importance of visiting the doctor and If you can, ask them If they want you to be with them. 
  2. Patience: You got to understand that the person you want to help Is going through a hard process and prepare yourself because It could be a very, very long process In which you are going to deal with a constant negative attitude, so you got to be patient.
  3. Distractions: This step will Imply that you have to make plans for people, depressed people tend to pull themselves apart from everyone so, the more time they are alone, the more they will suffer, so It is important that you look for an activity, and if it is in the outside, better. 
  4. Remind them their own value: Even when you are helping someone, you have to consider that they start to feel alone, they feel that nobody loves them, so is very important that you remind them how much they mean to you.


Final Thoughts


Depression is something that everyboy could suffer in any point of their lives, we have to learn about that in order to help everyone we can, I hope this post help someone and I also hope that I can keep writing and helping people among this community and In life. 



Sort:  

¡Buen Post @yarrdo! ¡Estas creciendo mucho y espero que sigas así! Éxito y Saludos...

Congratulations @yarrdo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @yarrdo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49