A new bloomsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today I saw a post by one of my friends. She was referring to a story she read about a friend of hers, lets call her Ann, that gave 5 dollars to a female beggar. In this scenario, Ann followed the beggar to see what the money was spent on, to discover, to Ann's surprise, that it was being spent on female sanitary napkins.
Upon this realizing, Ann helped the beggar further by contributing a few more hygiene products to her. What caught my attention about this story was that it is actually not common knowledge to most people that homeless persons have needs, that surpass the need for a hit or a drink.
I am, however, grateful that we do have the capacity to have our eyes opened to the real issues and I hope to inspire more people to look beyond and into the socioeconomic differences that exist within our immediate societies. It also shows just how oblivious fortunate persons can be to the plight of the common man, purely because of a flaw in their education. In a way, much of societies unfairness can be blamed on ignorance rather than malice.

Maybe this is the new bloom I've been looking for.DSC04623.JPG

Have a great day Steemit community, thanks for the read and keep dreaming of a better world!

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @yakuhi thank you very much for sharing, congratulations to your friend the excellent initiative, unfortunately more and more people are living street situation, this problem requires another solution, but when looking ornanismos do fat view, both miestras How lucky that they continue to exist people as his friend willing to give a helping person who needs it.

I usually try to give to organizations that help people in need, like shelters, food banks, etc. rather than directly to individuals. I guess I feel like the money helps in the right way this way. However, I've also given to homeless people or people asking for change and in those cases, the money is a gift. My hope is that they use it for what they need most, and if that happens to be a drink in that moment, then so be it. I think people have enough problems without adding my judgement to the mix, but sometimes it's easy to forget that. I really appreciate your story because it has served as a reminder.

I also followed you. Looking forward to seeing your future posts.

Thanks for your support! Its good to see that other people can understand this situation, it can sometimes seem like a daunting task trying to make a difference. I guess whats important is that we stay genuine and keep trying.

Nice post @yakuhi. It is a damn shame that, like you say, homeless persons have personal and hygienic needs like this instance. I dont think it is ignorance, but rather so many other beggars have taken advantage of people's kindness that people are just too reluctant now. This definitely effects the ones that are sincere and do need help but it is very hard to differentiate.

For example, just the other week there was this one homeless gal who I see almost everyday after work. It was a very cold day and I was going to give her $20 to hopefully buy her a coffee, a feed and maybe some socks or something - I had taken the $20 out of the ATM machine and as I was about to cross the road over to her, her partner came to meet with her with a handful of cigarette butts 😔 I was so disappointed knowing that that would be what my $20 would be spent on if I gave it. So I didnt.

Its disappointing that there is this stigma about homeless people, not helping themselves to be better, when a lot of them just need a helping hand.

Thanks for your support :) And I can completely understand that some people simply wish to con you out of your money to do what we would consider a waste. However, this does make it hard for people that really need help to get it from those willing to give it as well. A complicated mess this world...

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59