A Portrait of Arrogance

in #life6 years ago


sharp.png

What the Patriarch Said

I have everything,
in every area of life.
Tell me something
I don't have,
he gloated.

Fixing me with a stare,
he added: So I can go
and get two of it!
This was punctuated
with triumphant laughter.

It was late at night,
his eyes bloodshot and swimming
speech beginning to slur, after
customary heavy drinking...
In bed, I pondered

And answered his question,
quietly, in my head:
What about peace of mind,
I thought with pity,
or self-knowledge?

©Yahia Lababidi



(Images: Pixabay 1, 2)

Sort:  

Great story-telling and characterization here, Yahia:)

If one has never tasted peace/bliss/zen/being in the presence of the divine, he does not know what he is missing. I used to think that being tipsy from alcohol was great and now I find it a let down because it does not compete with the energy of zen. I enjoy a glass of wine with dinner on occasion but the idea of getting intoxicated is not attractive. Forgive him ... because he does not know what he does and is behaving according to his programming. He does not know he has been snared ... what he needs, and he cannot buy, is an awakening. Until then, it is fortunate that he does not understand how he suffers. In many ways, judgement and control are a bandaid and analgesic.

Thank you, dear Pryde, I’ve carried this story with me for some time, now.

Of course, I forgive. Who am I to condemn or judge? Yes, he suffers & does not realize he aggravates his pain further with this ‘escape’.

I do think that a relation with the Divine would alleviate his suffering — instead of focusing on ego and material world. But, I also realize that it must come from within, once his cynical defenses are surrendered. Only then, as you suggest, an awakening might be possible

PS - Not opposed to alcohol, per se, but see how it can be addictive/destructive.

What I tell my son is that when he gets older ... alcohol can be used to improve the taste of food but should not be used to change the mood. Even when I was younger and a little more foolish with its consumption, I understood this. Never drink to feel better. That is a trap.

You sound like a good mom and, if your kid follows your advice, he'd be a great son! Cheers :D

Peace of mind is worth more than all the riches of the world put together. I really love this post. I have a very important life changing decision to make and I could feel an inner conflict brewing. This post has given me a bit of clarity. Thank you for sharing this.

High praise, when literature can, actually, affect our life decisions. I wish you best of luck with your important decision and peace of mind. 🙏🏼

Thank you so much for wishing me well, and also for the little golden nuggets hidden within your words

Welcome to Steemit, too, I see that you’re new :)

He who has everything does not have nothing,
and having nothing is better than having everything.
They do say after all that perfection is reached not when you have nothing to add,
But when there is nothing left to subtract.
To have nothing then is to have perfection,
and to have everything is to have perfect imperfection.

Have everything and your eyes will be blind to the beauty that surrounds you.
Have nothing and you can see beauty even in a grain of sand.

Have everything and you will use that everything to fill the void that can only be filled by the things that matter most when you have nothing, things like love, joy, laughter, peace of mind and most of all knowledge of self.

You can own things and have nothing. Having nothing does not mean not having things. Having nothing means not being owned by your possessions. Having nothing means not attaching your identity to what you have or do not have. Having nothing means realizing that to have a happy, satisfying, fulfilling life that is full of love, excitement and peace of mind you need to strip away all your possessions, all of your achievements, all of the things you did in the past, all of you hopes, dreams and wishes, all of the things of which you are most proud, all of the experiences.

To live a happy, meaningful, exiting, loving, satisfying life, you need to know who you are at your core, and having nothing opens your eyes to the truth of who you are, having everything hides it.

Thank you, for your thoughtful reply. _/|\_

There are far too many out there who desperately search for that color in a bleak reality, frantic eyes darting about even as their hands ceaselessly wrap layer after layer of gauze over them. You can only hope that one day they can realize what their hands are truly holding.

Thank you for your words.

Evocative, lyrical, and sensitive response. Thank you, for sharing it. Here's to overcoming self-defeating habits (mind-forg'd manacles) & Awakening. _/|\_

Hmm that’s deep, people that depend their happiness solely on material things are the most depressed
Great post

Well said. I think that's, precisely, what's missing in this equation--an appreciation of life's spiritual dimension. Thanks, for your comment _/|\_

Now the equation is complete!
Keep up the great work 👍🏻

Peace of mind and knowledge are like rare diamonds these days :) Very well said!

Thank you, for reading, @hanen, I'm glad you enjoyed this piece. '_/|_`

Good one, as always..! 👌

are u keeping up with the @d-pend's challenge...???
FINAL5.png

Thank you :) No longer part of challenge...

best one sir,you are rocking in poetry

in the glass is it alcohol

Thanks for share your creativity .... i think total story writing by you..

am i right sir ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79