You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Portrait of Arrogance

in #life6 years ago

Great story-telling and characterization here, Yahia:)

If one has never tasted peace/bliss/zen/being in the presence of the divine, he does not know what he is missing. I used to think that being tipsy from alcohol was great and now I find it a let down because it does not compete with the energy of zen. I enjoy a glass of wine with dinner on occasion but the idea of getting intoxicated is not attractive. Forgive him ... because he does not know what he does and is behaving according to his programming. He does not know he has been snared ... what he needs, and he cannot buy, is an awakening. Until then, it is fortunate that he does not understand how he suffers. In many ways, judgement and control are a bandaid and analgesic.

Sort:  

Thank you, dear Pryde, I’ve carried this story with me for some time, now.

Of course, I forgive. Who am I to condemn or judge? Yes, he suffers & does not realize he aggravates his pain further with this ‘escape’.

I do think that a relation with the Divine would alleviate his suffering — instead of focusing on ego and material world. But, I also realize that it must come from within, once his cynical defenses are surrendered. Only then, as you suggest, an awakening might be possible

PS - Not opposed to alcohol, per se, but see how it can be addictive/destructive.

What I tell my son is that when he gets older ... alcohol can be used to improve the taste of food but should not be used to change the mood. Even when I was younger and a little more foolish with its consumption, I understood this. Never drink to feel better. That is a trap.

You sound like a good mom and, if your kid follows your advice, he'd be a great son! Cheers :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.91
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44