This is my beautiful wife..and me

in #life6 years ago

IMG_2406.JPG

We have been through twenty years plus two of marriage. We met in 1994 and married a year later in 1995. She is my rock. I can leave the world behind as long as she is by my side. We do many things together, but I give her her freedom to do whatever she wants. Whatever she can come up with and wherever she wants to go.

When I was a young boy I had a small bird, a green, blue and yellow parakeet. I kept her caged because if I opened the door she would escape and then she would not return to her cage. Fortunately, she never left my room. She was difficult to care for because I wasn't taught properly on the care and feeding of a bird. I read as much as I could but back then the information was limited to what books I could find. I did not know anyone who owned birds so I didn't have anyone to talk to about it. I think she died from boredom, loneliness, and malnutrition. I swore off owning anymore birds after she passed away. It did teach me a great lesson though.

Give the ones you love freedom, feed them well, be their friend. I've had many learning experiences, from my pets, in my life that I draw from now. Many of those experiences can be used for people. Everyone wants to be happy, fed, and paid attention to. We need each other, BUT NOT ALL THE TIME. We need room to grow and experience the world for ourselves. Those experiences make us much more interesting people and that we can share with our loved ones.

If you find that you've run out of things to say to someone and you've told them all about your life, that's usually a good time to take a few days vacation and have a new experience so that you can come back and share that. Unless you're more like me and you don't want to experience things without your mate. The shared experience is a powerful thing and it strengthens the bonds of friendship. My wife and I friends first, lovers second. When we aren't feeling the magic of love we go do things that enrich our lives as a couple.

She is my better half. I like to navigate and she likes to drive. It's not always like that though. Sometimes she likes being driven around to the paces we visit, especially if I've just gotten her up out of a sound sleep to take her somewhere, lol! Yesterday was a perfect example. We had a busy day, early on, and came home for a short nap. We rested, but I woke up before her. The phone rang and she didn't stir, wasn't even on this planet or plane of existence anymore. I took the call on my phone because her mom wasn't able to reach her on her phone. Her mom needed her to go do something. We left and took care of that, but this time I was driving her. We had a lovely time while we were out. It was short and sweet and it was nice that I could take over for her and let her relax and watch the scenery pass by.

She is my better half. She completes me. I am not whole without her. I have no idea what I would do if I didn't have her. She has a fun hobby, but it takes up a lot of her time. She raises and cares for rabbits. She has Dutch rabbits.
IMG_2606.JPG
IMG_2538.JPG

All the jokes about them multiplying quickly aren't jokes at all! They breed quickly. It is astonishing. They're cute and fuzzy and I'm not allergic to them, unlike cats. Yes, I'm allergic to cats. I love them, but I just cannot be around them or the people who have them. The cat hair and the smell set off my asthma, but I still love them. That's why I never went into veterinary medicine. I wouldn't be able to do my job if I'm not breathing. Anyway, recently we were called by our neighbors about one of our rabbits running loose in the neighborhood. We went and counted our rabbits and told them it wasn't ours, but we would go check it out and give food and a home until we found the owners. Rabbits like that don't travel far from home when they run off. If they do the coyotes make them disappear.

We went out and found this baby rabbit, brought home and gave it food and water.
IMG_2522.JPG

We found out that day, courtesy of the internet, that it is a Californian rabbit. That's a breed. Like we raise Dutch rabbits and this was a Californian. The Californian is a slightly larger breed and raised mainly for meat, but of course I could never harm any of the rabbits under my care. We talked to neighbors and asked them if they had lost a bunny. Our neighbors around the corner had. They were done caring for the rabbit and asked us if we wouldn't mind keeping it. I said "Sure! What's one more? We'd be delighted to have him." They had not even named the poor thing. So we named him Mark after my wife's deceased grandfather who was from California.

Mark is still with us and he, like all the rest of the rabbits, is an escape artist! He, I guess, was lonely and escaped his cage. He got into our female Dutch's cage out in the yard about two months ago and had his way with her. Mark is a daddy now with three strange looking babies. They are a cross between Dutch and Californian. Not fully matured yet, but they are so cute, docile and cuddly we can't stop holding them and caressing them. We have been blessed with these rabbits, all of them are docile except for one. One mama bunny named Sweetart, oh she is feisty and bites.

At one point we had 16 rabbits and that was taking up all my wife's free time. I asked her to see if someone else would like to have a rabbit. She took the hint and sold 10. Down to six now, but the numbers go up and down as rabbits are born and sold. We do this hobby as a couple and it keeps things fun and interesting.

Well, that's about all for now folks. Thanks for reading along. I'll post more later. Enjoy your day and as always, much love, light and respect,
X

Sort:  

What a great story. You are lucky to have such a loving relationship. My husband is allergic to cats also but we had a few. He can't help it, he loves them.Same with my daughter. I guess I have a good resistance since I was brought up around so many animals.

I enjoy sharing stories about my wife. She is awesome. I'd say I'm her number one fan.
X

You both sound like an awesome duo! Your stories are pretty awesome too = )

I'm her Superman and she is my Wonder Woman. She is my Watson to my Sherlock, lol of vice versa idk. "We have each other and that's a lot for love.." Jon Bon Jovi. Have you written about your relationship, I haven't gotten that far yet on reading your stories. If not you should because I'll read the heck out of that. I'm a sucker for a good love story.
X

Not really, I'm usually quite private but steemit is like therapy sometimes.

Understood. I'm the same. Very private, but somehow writing helps me open up. Some days I don't speak at all, but I'll type a novel! Lol, ok have a great and blessed day.
X

no greater blessing a man can have at his side than a good woman.

Awww your rabbits are so cute! Thanks for sharing.

I would like to take care if I have a bigger place. But at the moment, I just have my cat.

We used to live in an apartment and I can say that apartment life is no life for a rabbit. They need lots of outdoor time. Perhaps one day in the future you'll be able to have a rabbit as well. When you get there, you can have one of mine, or two.
X

Thanks! 😊 I want to have a rabbit too. Ok, I will let you know when I have a bigger place with a backyard.

Congratulations @xmaas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you, these small mile markers help keep me going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72