Some you win and some you lose..

in #life7 years ago

I enjoy writing..now.
Goodness knows I used to hate it! I was the type of child who would rather live outside in a tent and play all day, running around with my friends and creating new worlds in my head to explore, than be inside strapped to a desk for five minutes writing a sentence.
Schooling had taken a back seat to everything else in my mind. I kept expecting to die at any moment, so I tried to fill my life with the things that brought me joy and comfort. I gave out love and hugs to all those I knew because I did not know if I'd see them again the next day. It really was that bad. The last thing I wanted to be doing was sitting and writing, much less write any form of a novel or paper. Write a full sheet of thin lined paper of what I thought about reading a book? Really?
My how times have changed me. I survived the harshest parts of my childhood, just barely, and went on to explore the world through television, documentaries, films, books, encyclopedias, and lastly travel. My learning had slowed to a crawl in my youth. Things were scary. My mother made me slow down and take time to learn new things. I'll always be grateful for that. I hated it at the time though.
My wife changed me. My children changed me. I went from being an avid outdoorsman to an avid indoorsman. I spend my time now learning even more about the world in which I live. Chatting with people I have never met in real life, but with whom I have become fast friends. I read more. I watch Netflix documentaries and "How to" videos on YouTube. I try every day to learn to be a better man.
When I'm resting my back, I'm composing new stories and thoughts to share with you. Some of the greatest stories I come up with fall flatter than road kill and get no appreciation or attention while others that I didn't expect to do much get a standing ovation. It's fascinating to me how that happens. People continue to intrigue me with all their complexities, their likes and dislikes.
I'm sure there are some pieces of my work that are plain awful, but to me they're all worthy of a the few moments it takes to read through. Not just because it took so long to compose, but because in each and every one of them is a small complex piece of me. This is a way for everyone to get to know me more intimately since I don't get out of the house all that frequently. I'm no prize and I'm not trying to ring my own bell or toot my own horn, I'm just restating some of the things people have told me over the decades. That I should get out more and talk to more people. That they would enjoy my company, my companionship if only I had the time. There's never enough of me to go around sometimes.
Lol, of course there are times when people get way too much of me and need a lot of time and distance away before they can come back and appreciate me on deeper level. I don't fault them. I'm not not anywhere near perfect and sometimes I annoy even myself. Those times I take a mental vacation from me and enjoy the stories and lives of those who don't mind sharing bits of themselves. Seeing the world from someone else's perspective is a grand way to start a mental vacation.

I've shared some stories and some jokes and some parts of my intimate life with you because we all in some small way at times need a vacation from ourselves and our own problems in life. This is what I have to give and I love sharing. Took me a long time to learn to appreciate sharing, the whole concept of give and take and that of compromise. This is my gift to you, free of charge, a mental vacation from yourself for a few moments at a time.

Much love, warmth, understanding, mirth and respect to you and yours on this fine day,
X

Sort:  

Your posts are always ingenuous (hope it's the right word). Honestly and positive at once - as you wrote like a timeout for the brain - thank you :)

Rofl, oh dear. Ingenious is being more than genius. Ingenuous is not being genuine or fake, but I did take your meaning through context and I very much appreciated it. Mostly, just saying hi to me was enough since most ppl do not reply to posts. Sending a simple 'thank you' on a reply is always far better than leaving a post you enjoyed blank or absent of a reply. Even if you were not enjoying my posts and wrote a reply of discontent, it would still mean the world to me, because you took the time to put a little piece of yourself into the mix. So, in essence, thank you. I thank God you came here and took the time out of your busy schedule to read one of my posts and then you did what most fail to do! You left a comment. That was fantastic and it made my whole morning.
Much love and light,
X

Haha fcking translator, but glad you understood what i meant :)
I fully agree with you! Getting such lovely and happy answers like you do it, is more worth than any SBD and it puts a smile on my face when I see you replied to my comment. Thanks for joining Steemit - hope there will be more people with your stance.
Have a great day xmaas!

Life itself has a way of allowing for changes we never thought possible. Love always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40