How easy it is to remember information: a way proven by scientists

in #life7 years ago

Canadian researchers have confirmed: the best way to remember something is to read aloud.

dfger.jpg

According to Colin MacLeod, professor of psychology at the University of Waterloo in Canada, when you say the information aloud, it is better coded in your memory.

Together with his team, he conducted a study. This is the time it's personal: the memory benefit of hearing oneself. , in which subjects had to memorize information in four different ways. The participants read a lot of random words about themselves and aloud, listened to the recordings of their own voices, and also how the words are read by someone else.

Those who loudly read aloud, remember most of the words. In second place were people who listened to the recordings. Followed by subjects who listened to someone else. The fewest words survived in the memory of those who read to themselves.

beautiful-teen-girl-in-sad-mood-alone-reading-the-love-poetry-book-4k-hd-wallpaper-gfgij.jpg

The trivialities of affairs were the worst. A little better when you hear someone's voice. It's much better if you hear your own voice, but it's best to pronounce the words yourself, and also simultaneously hear your own voice and move your own language.

Colin MacLeod, Professor of Psychology

Sort:  

I love reading your story 🙂 I'm vote have you please vote I came back 🙂.

This is so true, that is why studying by discussion has been unbeaten when it comes to memory retention. I am a witness!

Interesting read @xeo - Even though I have not conducted my own study I would believe this 100%. I guess that is why we also retain so much information when we also teach other people, as we are reading aloud.

Thanks for sharing!

This makes a lot of sense. Have you ever tried webcam journaling @xeo? I do this a lot, not only for emotional processing, but also for brainstorming. I've found that I'm much more effective with my problem solving when I'm talking out loud and playing around with the ideas out loud. Once I started doing it I found so much use in it that I'll never go back.

Thanks for sharing @xeo! I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: How To Fuel Flirtation And Ignite Irresistible Interactions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57864.88
ETH 2274.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54