You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Letting go of possessions and feeling pretty good about it, at least so far.

in #life7 years ago

I recently did this also in moving away from my home country. Gave away/ Threw away tons of stuff. I've been a bit of a pack rat over the years and would have had little trouble filling any sized space with junk. "you never know, these Styrofoam peanuts might be useful one day", "I might be able to use some parts out of this old CRT TV and broken microwave" Said things like this for 15 years and managed to amass quite a collection of trash. Never used 99% of it.

Throwing it all away felt great! Well I shouldn't say "it all" because I did keep quite a bit in storage "just in case", and ended up carrying with me WAY more then I've needed so far. So I've still got a lot more to get rid of but it's a good feeling, becoming lighter.

Sort:  

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

Yeah, those broken microwaves are the things we regret throwing away when we lie on our deathbeds. Thanks for commenting.

@pomperipossa great post! Really inspiring. @xeldal, "you never know, these Styrofoam peanuts might be useful one day" cracked me up. I have that same thought process. I'm a crafter and love recycling and reusing things I find... I like to think I'm just really optimistic about the world and that I can find use and purpose for everything... or maybe this is what hoarders tell themselves at night so they can sleep? LOL

Wow, thanks for the great comment!

haha thank you! :) Just ya know.. blabbing about my thoughts.

Well it's working! :)

haha thanks! :0)

Whenever I hear pack rat I think of good old Fallout!

Thanks for the occasional support! One of your older comments just made me realize Sasha PUA is here! Unbelievable! He helped me sooooo much...

Ha ha, I've played my fair share of Fallout 2. Thanks for commenting and reading!

It feels so good to give up the clutter . It is like taking weight off your shoulders :)

@xeldal est que tu peux faire un tour sur mon blog merci . Ton commentaire est très bien fait.

It can be heart-breaking too though sometimes...

that is very good of you. it is good to be kind with our stuffs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65631.30
ETH 2609.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70