You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Woman, Heal Thyself – How I cured myself of IBS and Fibromayalgia

in #life8 years ago

Hi! Sure, I'm happy to share important information about health, as it really is a matter of life and death these days (eek). One particular website I found really useful with a comprehensive list of ingredients to avoid is: http://www.saynotomsg.com/basics_list.php

Basically it leave you with very few convenience/processed foods that are okay to consume, and if you're serious about wanting to avoid these harmful ingredients then you'll have no choice but to spend a bit more time in the kitchen. Things like gravies, sauces, even stock cubes. Anything ready-flavoured is likely to be harmful, but the good news is it's fun and very satisfying to create your own flavours and sauces with good old fashioned herbs and spices, honey, fresh tomatoes, wine, mustard... things like that! Perhaps I should expand on this with a post sometime soon... All the best with your shopping!

Sort:  

Yes! Please do expand on that and thank you for the link. I try to stay away from processed food, but being gone from home for 13 hours every day makes it difficult to get that cooking done. I definitely need to get more into prepping sauces and freezing them to quickly add to meals.

I know it can be hard to find the time. But really, sauces needn't take long, and a lot of the time you don't even have to prepare in advance. For example, whilst my grain is cooking I chop up my veg and saute in coconut oil (use meat too if you eat it), and then I will make a sauce right there in the pan, maybe a drizzle of honey, splash of red wine, tsp mustard, herbs & spices, and there you have a very simple but tasty sauce! I mix it up, so maybe I add peanut butter one day, or pureed tomatoes another day, splash of balsamic vinegar... Just make it up and you'll create some marvellous flavours!

I think perhaps I might do a series of recipes - quick, healthy and tasty, for all you people who work too many hours in a day but still want good nutrition!

That would be lovely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44