What was your first car?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Mine was this (not so) beautiful, bright orange 1973 Volkswagen SuperBeetle.

I loved this car. It was a gift from my brother when I turned 17. Very simple car to work on.

And yes, that's wire holding the hood down. I didn't cause that, the previous owner did.
Still, can't complain too loudly when the car only cost us $300. lol


Sort:  

Very nice. Mine was a 68 Camaro! They don’t make cars like that anymore.

That's no joke!

83' Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme (w/ the rally rims that matched he paint!) Man I wish I had a picture of it. Wrecked it 1 year after I bought it, ugh.

Oh man, another Cutlass. I was just telling @cathynsons below how my mom used to have an '85. That thing helped defined my childhood between like 5 and 10.

Nice!!!! My Mom had an 85, in the same maroon color as mine. She had a green cutlass wagon when I was a kid though, memories!

My dad's first car here in the States was a maroon '91 Cutlass Supreme. I have very fond memories of that maroon-on-maroon car. :D

Gotta love the Cutlass.

My first car was a 1988 mustang convertible... I loved that car!!

Oh nice!

I like that car! And mine was a tank a 1997 Chevy Lumina at least felt like a tank when it got in a car accident. They just don't make cars the same anymore.

I have a friend who drove a Lumina for years before it finally croaked. "Tank" is an accurate term!

Mine was a 66 Mustang, it wasn't in good shape, pretty, or nice. It was white and had been backed into a tree. It had a lot of body damage. The lifters knocked and it burned a lot of oil. I think I paid $400.00 dollars for it. (It was 1984) I earned the money by babysitting and working summers at the Forest Service, and I purchased it my Senior year of high school, a friend helped me pick it out. I was proud of my car, but only because I had big dreams of restoring it to it's former beauty. Although, it wasn't a nice car, I was in love with that car and my dreams of making it beautiful. I remember the sense of freedom I had when I carried those keys with me. I didn't have to ask anyone for a ride, I could go where I wanted. I lived in a small town, where there were no buses, and town was a few miles from my house, so transportation was always a problem. Suddenly, on the days my car would start, I had freedom. Although, I am not mechanically inclined, I lived in an area where restored older cars were popular and many people were happy to help work on the car with little incentive, it was kind of a hobby. Someone I knew, helped pound the dents out and did their best with some putty, and we spray painted it with primer, while I saved for the paint job.
My Dad fixed the mechanical issues, one weekend at a time. I had to pay for the parts, but he volunteered his time. Sometimes his friends would be around having a beer and they would throw their efforts in and the car progressed. We fixed the starter, replaced the alternator, the radiator, other things I no longer remember, but the car started on most days now, it no longer dripped oil.
By this time I was commuting to a local Community College my first year of college. One night coming home from school on a foggy night, I drove my dream car right into a large buck. I didn't see him in the fog, until the last moment, and he and I both froze. When the moment was over there was a dead buck and a totaled '66 Mustang. Of course at the time I was really sad. I also had a pretty sore neck for a couple of weeks from the whiplash. I knew it could have been worse. For those of you that know deer, the buck I hit was a six point buck. Big deer.

I do love the memory of my first car, and all the hopes and dreams I had for it. I have never again owned a classic car, nor do I intend to, but that first car brought me freedom, fun, goals, and represented the beginning of being an adult. -text reposted from another post on first cars.

Wow!

I'm still on my first car - a little soccer mom van I bought a few years ago. The car is 17 years old but in pretty good shape bar a few scratches and bruises ;)

It's just like this one (including the ugly color):


Renault Megane Scenic (2000)

Sweet! I'm surprised the Hyundai Elantra I'm driving is nearly 12 years old now. Held on a lot longer than I thought it would.

My car was same vintage as your bug! I shared it with my sister...1971 Honda Coupe. We drove it in 74 thru 76. It had been in the circus...I don't have a photo here in my house but it was TINY! and it looked like this:

honda coupe.jpg

The gas tank held 5 gallons and got 45 miles per gallon. Gas at 50 cents per gallon and I could drive it around cheap!!

We painted it yellow and put rainbow stripes around the wheels...lol. I gotta dig up a photo next time I visit my dad.

My first car, back in 1988, was a Bug as well, more than 10 years old. Served me well until I began taking it to a mechanic who knew not what he was doing. Broke down a lot. Fond memories though.

My first car was a 1979 Oldsmobile Cutlass. It was white with blue interior. Major boat, but I loved that car.

Nice! My mom had a 1985 Cutlass. Not quite the same body, but every bit the same boat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66