I want to plant a pineapple - but where? when?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes the oddest moments will change the direction of your life.  For me it happened last night on another social media site, when I came across a friend's simple post.  My friend posted a picture of her first pineapple.  It seems her brother came to see her and as a bit of a spoof he planted the top of a pineapple in the backyard.  The resulting plant produced this pineapple.

*used with permission

The picture is simple, but as soon as I saw it, an idea formed.  "I want to grow a pineapple".  On the surface it sounds like a simple thought, but I knew the idea was already planted, beginning to take root, in my brain.  The desire was so strong, I knew it wouldn't simply pass.  I woke up thinking about it again this morning.  I want to nurture the idea for a bit to see how it grows.

*cauliflower

The restlessness has been there for a while.  I don't attach to houses and areas, my attachments are with people, ideas, and experiences.  The longest  I have ever lived in one house is 7 years.  We have been in this one for 3 years and the restlessness has already started.  The kids are grown up and pursuing their own lives, families and activities.   The last three summers have been filled with smokey haze, dry crackling weeds, blowing dust and weather extremes.  The past winter was frigid and snowy, my mind and body long for tropical beaches and sounds of the ocean.

*stock photo found millions of places on the internet

The restlessness is political and crypto related as well.  My state (WA) has passed so many restrictive laws most of the exchanges will no longer accept residents of WA as customers.  The Nation is stuck in conflicts that do not make sense to me, and run by people who remind me more of circus clowns than leaders.  (Both sides) I feel powerless to create any change. The arguments are handed to the population via mainstream media and day-after-day I listen to the arguments growing more confused and ...  restless.

*clip art

My work is as mobile as my laptop and an excellent internet connection, although I do like that I live centrally to most of my clients, so if I have to visit I can drive.  In the company I used to work for I got so burnt out on travel, I don't enjoy the idea of getting on a plane.  There are always compromises though.

I've always thought I might like to live in Texas, but until now I have never considered moving out of the country.  I have never seriously looked into the idea of relocating somewhere completely new.  If you have already left the US or are in the process, I would love to hear about your experience.  Help me pick a place to plant a pineapple.  I am not saying I am going to move out of the country, but it is an option, an option that is sounds fun to consider.

There are still a lot of unanswered questions, conversations that haven't been had, decisions to make, but I see pineapples in my future.


Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your gradual explanation.

@whatsup
grate idea...i want buy plant of cinnamon

I wonder if you could do an urban gardening as I've seen a seeds for urban gardening at the store. I am currently living in South East Asia where I normally see pineapple everyday . I don't think it is easy to plant pineapple, for that you need somekind of tropical temperature. But anyway, oddest moment are the best part throughout my life jouney.

cheers :) !

I thought of that. I have apple trees and a cherry tree, to some that might seem.. cool. Too me, it is boring.

The only place that I will live in the USA is Hawaii. I tryed Costa Rica for a year I didnt like it. Snakes they have plenty of them! I lived in Texas for a while the food is good and you can protect yourself ;-)

lol, was it mainly the snakes in Costa Rica or were there other things as well?

would love to see the end result of your plantation

and restlessness it will always go on
whether in real life or in crypto market

I pick mine fresh from Costco lol

Don't forget to post about the plant when it grows ;) after sometime

@whatsup - Sire, pineapples are good for health. it protects our body from cancers. Therefore, try to plant them. I think you can do that Sire.

+W+

My father grows carrots ,cucumbers,tomatoes, and many more . We tried growing exotic fruits also , but the climate didn't help . But once i managed to grow a lemon tree in my apartment . wich is nice .
I plan on buying a house near a forest , in the country side , once i'm financially satisfied , and grow some fruits and vegetables .

What do you think will be better eating the pineapple that you will grow or the rewarding feeling you will get knowing that the pineapple came from the time, energy, and care you put into growing it?

For me it's always the later. I can even tie that into steemit. Being new here, I feel like I'm growing a pineapple! lol. It's just certainly way underipe and if I stop watering it and caring for it will certainly die. I'll have no reward on either side of that coin. What frustration. But after being on the fence more than once I keep watering my steemit pinapple. And to see all the successful steemians I feel there is no excuse for me not end up with some fat and juicy in the end.

On that note I commend you for your success on here. I spent all day perfecting a series of posts including a highly informative and well done World Travel Report: Bali Indonesia. I know you've seen my work, and there would nothing better than getting a little help from my friends.

https://steemit.com/travel/@world-travel-pro/world-travel-report-bali-indonesia

Anything you can do with your rep 68 steemit supper powers to help this minnow grow would be more than appreciated.

Checking in from Koh Phe Ngan Thailand....

Dan "world Travel Pro!" Signing out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61