I Tried to Change An Alcoholic - I Tried

in #life8 years ago (edited)

 *Continued story - links at the bottom

My house wasn’t a safe place, and I didn’t know that wasn’t normal. 

By my early 20s we were living in a trailer park, he worked and he drank.  I didn’t even have a driver's license.  He was jealous, controlling and wanted me to stay home most of the time.  I, on the other hand was convinced I could make him see the error of his ways.  It was my mission to make him the man I thought he should be.  This is not a good recipe for happiness.  We had both grown-up in dysfunctional households, and our skill sets were limited when it came to conflict resolution, personal responsibility and even simple life skills.  We fought, I attacked, he avoided.  We tried.


*Art by @whatsup


I knew my life had gone off track.   I wanted more, I wanted different.   I didn’t know how.  This will sound funny, but Oprah saved me.  I was sitting on the floor one day, watching Oprah and playing with my daughter.  Oprah’s show was focused on “Adult Children of Alcoholics”, and their addiction to chaos.  A huge percentage of ACoAs either marry alcoholics or become alcoholic themselves. Many ACoAs, have financial difficulties, lack life skills, and create chaos whether or not they are alcoholic themselves.  I experienced a paradigm shift during that hour.  I had inherited a problem and it could be overcome.


Time for action, I had a name for why my life went off track, and I was going to fix it.  I purchased every book I could find on the topic, I went to support meetings, I talked about it.  Within two-weeks of watching that show, I had enrolled in a college course, I was involved in a support group and I felt different.  I tried.
He was not impressed.  He didn’t support the changes, he couldn’t stop me.  From what I had learned already, I quit focusing on what he did.  I understood I couldn’t change him.  I focused on changing me.  I focused all my energy on fixing me.  I tried.

We knew we weren’t happy, and we decided to end our relationship.  I moved out with my daughter and I got a job, I continued to read, and I decided to learn those life skills that I hadn’t learned.  Some of the changes were instant, some of them I am still working on.  However, I tried.

Soon life changed, I was back in school, I had new friends, people who were working on themselves, people who had goals and focus.  Life changed.  I began to let go of things that weren’t getting me where I wanted to go.  I learned new things. I quit hiding and started living.  


*pixabay


That day on the floor listening to Oprah was some 25 years-ago.  In those years, I finished my degree, raised two healthy children, in a house that was safe.  I learned the life skills I had been lacking.  I learned to be happy, I gave up being angry at people and things.

Remember that little girl who never walked into a room without “reading” the mood?  As an adult that turned into the ability to read people during meetings, interviews, and in all settings.  Everyone has a talent, it tooks me years to understand my talent is people.  Some people have sports or singing, music, writing, etc.  I love people.  I am interested in all people, and what makes them tick.  When do they step up, when do they feel successful? I want to bring out the best in people, and I am pretty good at it.

A few years later I remarried and we have now been married for over 20-years, we raised five kids together in a blended family that worked.  I am proud of all of our children.  They are now adults and doing well.  
During my 25 years in business, I excelled at identifying quality employees, understanding what their goals were and creating opportunities which would be mutually beneficial.  I do not fear tough times, conflict and I know it is never too late to work on yourself.  I helped start a company from scratch, which grew to a large publically traded company and now employees 5000 people.

*pixabay

My childhood left a few scars.  I have struggled with anxiety my entire life, and I haven’t been able to completely shake it.  However, they say broken bones heal stronger, and I think broken people heal stronger as well.  My childhood also left me with many gifts that I am grateful for.
Today, I am so thankful for that quiet little girl who learned to survive by hiding.  I am thankful for my parents who gave me the perfect childhood for me to be who I am today.  My life isn’t perfect, but I am happy and content, and I am still trying.  That is what I do.  I try.

__________________________________________________________________________
I was touched by how many people related to the story of my childhood.  I am going to do one final post in this series regarding the books, tools and other ways I mended my broken childhood.



Part 1

https://steemit.com/life/@whatsup/i-grew-up-with-alcoholics-i-tried 

Part 2

https://steemit.com/life/@whatsup/i-married-an-alcoholic-i-tried

Related Poem By @macksby - I remain especially touched by his beautiful poem inspired by part 1 of my story.

https://steemit.com/life/@macksby/little-girl-blue-i-tried

Sort:  

Maybe you had to go through that time to become the person you are now. Well done :)

Thank you for reading and commenting on my story. It was a great experience to write it and see that it impacted people. Or gave them something to relate to. :)

It was a brilliant read. thank you :)

What a joy to see you come out the other side... All grown with family and stronger from the wear. You are definitely an inspiration for the many that have walked in your path. Thank you, for not giving up!

It was great to write and I am happy with the success it had! Mostly because on some level it touched some people!! Exciting.

Amazing @whatsup! Your story will help many more, just like Oprah helped you 25 years ago. :)

Thank you. I have been touched and amazed by all of the feedback I have received. It has been really great experience, putting this into words! What a rush.

I really hope that steemit grows strong so I can always look for @whatsup 's latest post. I like the hot chicks and I really like @whatsup

Awww, thank you @runridefly I am running kind of late today, but I always look for and enjoy your posts. We will have a happy minnowhood on SteemIt!

I am pretty amazed at the influence that Oprah has on people. Once I heard one of her shows. She says sensible things, but those that are absolutely trivial and that everybody know anyway.
Thus, I cannot imagine how her words could change anybody’s life. A person’s got to be so unsure of their own thoughts and convictions that they need a confirmation. Weird.
Anyhow, glad you made it through the difficult circumstances.

@mgaft1 - I understand exactly what you are saying, and I almost left it out of my story. You accurately describe who I was at the time though. Maybe it wouldn't work on me now, but at the time, I was 20 something, and at home all day. So, her helping to identify what my issue was... Made a difference. It was a starting place. I took the ball after that.

In the end, I am glad you were able to do whatever was necessary to change your life for the better.

Cheers

I truly loved your story and look forward to your wrap-up with books, etc.
Thank you for sharing a difficult childhood turned positive!
Thank you for the inspiration.

Thank you for reading it. The journey is part of life. I went to look at your Intro and saw that you are new. Good luck on SteemIt. Looking forward to reading your work.

Thank you for the post..and illumination. I totally relate.

Wonderful to read how you managed to pull yourself up, looking forward for the next one.

Thank you for reading and your support and comments on each part of my story. It meant so much to me, that people read, cared and shared. :)

another one of your talents is to tell your story well! Thanks for your story, and I am inspired by how you keep saying YES to yourself and to life.

Thank you! This was a fun series. Even though it's a tough topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65